We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Service in Mercure Vientiane”
Review of Mercure Vientiane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Vientiane
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Quality Service in Mercure Vientiane”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My stay in Mercure Hotel Vientiane was very pleasant with clean sheets daily and friendly front desk staffs. Though not all of them speak good English but they greet you with a smile. The restaurant and pool have been renovated with refreshing resort look. Daily international buffet breakfast includes nasi lemak and mee siam too sometimes. The hotel manager, Mr Salim is very helpful and friendly and if you need help to plan for sight-seeing or shopping, he is always ready to help you. I had a wonderful stay in Mercure and thank you, I will be back again soon!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are better and it comes with free internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mas_jalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    162
    173
    68
    28
See reviews for
42
121
75
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I was very exited about my trip to Laos and was in trouble when selecting the hotel. I definately wanted to stay in an international hotel, so the only option was the Mercure.
I looked at the websited and checked the pictures and concerning the prices I thought it will be fine. I also so the many bad comment on trip advisor, but still decided to give a chance and let's book in Mercure. I was wrong...

My first impression was already horrible as soon as I arrived. The staffs didnt greet me, they could hardly speak english and the most imortant that the hotel's condition is just not what I was expected. My room was very old, 2 beds pushed together, the furnitures in a very bad condition. I didnt even would give a 3 Star Hotel for it. Internet was available for a 10 USD per day. No free internet in the hotel at all.

I just could not stay there so I decided to check out. First they tried to convince me by giving an upgrade to the newly renovated rooms on the top floor (which actually looks really nice and can't compare to the one they gave me), but I didn't want to stay there after so many negative experience in the first 30 minutes.

I have moved to the Vientiane Plaza hotel which is a new hotel, much bigger and decent, great location, friendly and english speaking staffs and even the prices are less then in Mercure.

Room Tip: Make sure you got a new rooms if you decide to stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feranora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureVientiane, Webmaster at Mercure Vientiane, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Vientiane for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry that it didn’t work out.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Staff received additional training in the courteous way in which our valued guests are to be treated.

• Management was approached about providing free internet for our valued guests.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again attempt to stay at Mercure Vientiane. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Disappointed in this hotel, more 3 star than 4. Definately need in renovation, felt quite grubby . Lot of noisy guests.. About 1 mile from the main area of the city. Restaurant was OK. Glad I only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralLady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureVientiane, Webmaster at Mercure Vientiane, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Vientiane for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you liked the restaurant.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management was reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests and keep their noise to a reasonable level.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Mercure Vientiane. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Last time, I book with Tripadvisor, the Hoa Binh Palace in Hanoi, I was very happy. This time the hotel I wasn't. For the price i paid i felt ripped off, the room was very tired, twin beds pushed together came apart during the night, linen was dirty, the floor needed a good mop, gabage bins were filthy. Although the staff seemed to smile and say hello the care factor was just not there . The dining area serves a good breakfast with a some good choices for asia cuisine

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOULLET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureVientiane, Webmaster at Mercure Vientiane, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Vientiane for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast offered.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Staff members received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Mercure Vientiane. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Not many places in town have a pool as respite from the heat and play place for little ones - lucky for Mercure Novotel. we booked a family room for 4 - we got a cramped, tired room with 2 single beds. When we pointed out the number on the reservation we were given a new room, with 3 single beds. The hotel was almost empty (wet season) but we were still put on the inoisy road side with double glazing that performed none of the normal functions of double glazing apart from having 2 layers of glass. We asked to move poolside but were told we would need to buy an extra bed at a price equal to what we had paid for the whole room. The staff were lovely and work hard to make a purse from a sow's ear, but it remains an ear.

Room Tip: if you have less than 3 in your paty, ask for poolside, its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theritsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureVientiane, Webmaster at Mercure Vientiane, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Vientiane for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you felt our staff was, to use your word, lovely and that they worked hard to make your stay with us a nice one.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Staff was notified of the compliment you paid them and received my personal commendation for the way that they treated you, our valued guests.

• Management was notified of your observance of the double glazing.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Mercure Vientiane. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Vientiane is a small place and the Mercure Vientiane (note: the hotel was renamed Mercure Vientiane the day I arrived, so don't look out for Novotel coz you won't find it) is located approximately between the airport and the middle of town.

Spacious rooms are simply furnished, but no in-room internet connection. However wifi is available at the Lobby area.

Pool & gym facilities available within hotel, tho they do seem under utlised. Noticed that most guests during my stay were there for business.

At it's price point, i would say the Mercure is value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
Crowne Plaza Vientiane
#9 of 93 in Vientiane
56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#15 of 93 in Vientiane
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerset Vientiane Serviced Residence
1.4 mi away
Don Chan Palace
Don Chan Palace
#25 of 93 in Vientiane
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Vientiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Vientiane

Property: Mercure Vientiane
Address: Unit 10 Samsenthai Road | PO Box 585, Vientiane 8562, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Vientiane 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Vientiane is a 4 star hotel located close to both the centre of Vientiane and the airport. As the ideal location for business trips and holidays, the hotel offers a range of conference and leisure facilities. Featuring 172 rooms, the hotel also boasts an executive floor. Relax with a drink while listening to music in one of our three bars, or enjoy a meal in our restaurant. We also offer a fitness centre, outdoor pool, sauna and tennis court. Parking is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Vientiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Vientiane Hotel Vientiane
Hotel Accor Vientiane
Novotel Vientiane
Vientiane Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing