We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$55
Travelocity$55
Orbitz.com$55
CheapTickets$55
Tripadvisor$55
Snaptravel
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
36
42
21
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
36
42
21
13
11
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 123 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First of all, this hotel is probably the most plush & chic hotel in VTE at the time of writing. Lots of decorative thrown into probably every inches of the hotel. From the first look they were great, but after few days not everything worked that way. The room for example, was spacious and very well lighted, big fridge with kitchen sink and microwave this almost good enough for the mini apartment. It felt new, clean and bright. Separate bathroom and toilet was neatly done. The shower cubicle with compact spa/steam unit was a great visual.

But after 3 nights there was some felt missing, the shower unit aimed directly at the sliding glass door and after few minutes of shower reasonable amount of water leaked to the dry area, mini flood in the cubicle was imminent every time as the water outlet was way too small. Hair dryer was installed in the impossible area to work without 90 degree bow. Bits and pieces of fixtures felt as cheap Chinese made brand and the fixing was from bad workmanship. No luggage folding seat nor proper storage area as the closet only good for small hand trolleys.

Bed was too soft for me and sleeping quality was not great, noisy air con as well as suction fans in both toilet and bathroom.

Location was confusing, there was nothing at that side of Vientiane and it takes average 15-20 mins to city center, a lot for this city. Probably they are aiming at the newly constructed Chinese Shipping Center which is a year away from opening. But location alone is the main hurting point for this hotel at this hour.

WIFI daily password provided upon check-in, average quality and speed. And am talking about the low occupancy period.

The good part : friendly & attentive staff, one of the best housekeeping around, great mini-a la carte+ buffet, excellent fitness, pool area,

Worth to stop by I believe.....

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bom2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilatsa S, Director of Sales at Rashmi's The Plaza Vientiane, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Bom2535,

Thank you for your warm review on the online community.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful property soon.
Best Regards
Nilatsa
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Booked last minute for 3 nights and luckily our plans have enabled us to leave after only one day, unfortunately at a cost but that is worth it. The bed / sleeping area is actually good, but the bathroom is old and missing any sort of upgrade. Apparently the rest of the building has been refurbished, but not to a 5 star standard, i would barely say 2 star.

Overall though i just don't get this hotel or what they are trying to achieve. The gym is world class - but clearly aimed at the local embassy staff that will pay a membership. The hotel is too far from the city center to be tourist friendly. The decor is a mish-mash of styles, part art-deco, part thai in some aspects. Its no surprise to see that the designer / GM (apparently) is here on TA giving it 5 stars - thanks Sunshine !

The staff however are wonderful and friendly and trying their best, but they are let down by the over achieving photoshop images - the hotel does not look like its website ! Our room felt more like a bad serviced apartment, the fridge (or mini-bar) and microwave were pretty random. The view is however of the mekong - thru 180degree building sites, i suspect you wont see the river for long.

Is a shame, as this place could have a lot of potential.

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank HKTerrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We absolutely loved it - the look&feel, the design, the comfort, the large new gym with world class equipment, great rooftop swimming pool and attentive service. Stayed there for 5 nights overall and spent 3 whole days just hanging around in the hotel. The staff seem to lack experience sometimes, but they compensate with friendliness and effort. The hotel is located a bit further from the centre, but there is free of charge shuttle service provided.

There is no doubt we will go there again next time we are in Vientiane.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carsten_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilatsa S, Director of Sales at Rashmi's The Plaza Vientiane, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Carsten_London,

Thank you for your taking time to share your experience of your recent stay with us.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful property soon.
Best Regards
Nilatsa
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashmi's The Pl... H, Manager at Rashmi's The Plaza Vientiane, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashmi's The Pl... H, Manager at Rashmi's The Plaza Vientiane, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews