We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Massages...Staff know what they are doing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LV City Riverine Hotel
Ranked #33 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Massages...Staff know what they are doing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

When I walked in, I was served by a gentleman who was very professional. I told him I wanted a massage around my shoulder area and back and he said he would let the lady know exactly what type of massage I wanted. The lady was fantastic, she knew how to give a professional massage and made me feel great. Her name was Mai, I would highly recommend getting a massage at LV City Massage and spa because they clearly train there staff and they are all very professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed one night in room B12. Clean but had an unpleasant odour. Also the "window" would have opened onto the hallway had I chosen to open it. Hallway conversations and noises were loud. Beds were on a raised platform and there were no chairs or table in the room so nowhere to sit. This room cost $36. I requested an upgrade and was moved to the VIP C room at $50 - well worth the extra $ but I would suggest that better accommodations can be found for these prices.
There seemed to be a lot of traffic in and out for massages.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leendaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Always ask to see the room before checking in. A truism.
The two hotels we tried initially failed. The room in the first one had an unpleasent odour, the second had bedding which had seen better days.

Then the City Riverine.
Clean reception and dining area. Some nice internal seating areas open to the elements, with an attractive water feature. Tiled and wooden floors, some bamboo screens. So far, so good.

To the room. A breath of fresh air. Clean.
Not large, but big enough.
We moved in.

Adequate bathroom facilities, a multi-channel TV and a fridge.
Big firm bed with fresh bedding.
Choice of lighting, from full-on to subdued to wicker lamp.
There were two windows in our room. One opened to the hall, the other opened to a garden area. The view couldn't be described as picturesque, but they were useful for ventilation.
The air-con was fully functioning, and the area around our room nice and quiet. Very relaxing.

I particularly enjoyed reading one of the supplied newspapers out in the seating area by the water feature. Lovely.

The breakfast, included in the room rate, was a disappointment. A sparse buffet selection. There are lots of cafes and restaurants in the vicinity for those who would like something more interesting.

The room cost 320,000 kip per night. (32 euros).

The hotel is well-placed, central, within easy walking distance of the Mekong River riverbank and the Night Market.

The staff were personable, and we enjoyed our two night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaveNoFootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

First impressions are very promising when arriving at LV City Riverine Hotel. The hotel is built around a small patio, it has outside seating areas downstairs and upstairs, and the decoration is done in pleasant colours and materials.

We stayed in two different rooms: a type A room (360.000 kip) and a type B room (320.000 kip). The rooms were really not that different. Both were small but tastefully decorated. Both had windows that opened to the corridor (most, if not all, rooms have those), which means we didn't use them to look out but instead kept them shuttered and we did hear people talking (and more) all the time; they were, however, good for letting some fresh air in during the day. For both rooms, laundry service was free, although underwear had to be paid for. Both came with satellite tv, fridge, hot water etc. Also, a fairly standard hotel breakfast was included in both.

The differences: the type B room was on the ground floor, adjacent to the massage parlour, where there was slightly more going on (tv, talking, laughing) than upstairs. Type B also meant the snacks in the room (two cans of coke and two packets of crisps) were not included in the room rate, whereas they were free in type A.

Although there was a vent in the bathroom, it was not very efficient and both rooms were quite stuffy. Maybe because of that, we didn't sleep very well for several nights. It may also have been the smell of fresh paint that lingered in the room.

Finally, the staff was friendly and helpful, the in-house massage parlour was a welcome addition (for the massages, if not for the additional background noise...), and the rooms could be paid for in kip, baht or US dollars. The location is excellent, like that of the many other hotels in the area. This one was actually one of the few that had rooms available when we walked in to inquire. All in all, a bit of a mixed bag, with good and less good points. Could be better, could be worse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rate includes American breakfast. Comfortable bed, private shower, toilet. Also in the room a small bar fridge with snacks & drinks at a reasonable price. The hotel offers a brilliant 60 min massage for just 60,000Kip. The foot & shoulder massage also recommended after walking all day...brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ennor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rate includes American breakfast. Comfortable bed, private shower, toilet. Also in the room a small bar fridge with snacks & drinks at a reasonable price. The hotel offers a brilliant 60 min massage for just 60,000Kip. The foot & shoulder massage also recommended after walking all day...brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ennor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed one night in Riverside then moved up a notch at LV City Riverine. The rooms are clean, new and tastefully decorated with comfortable beds. Price was 1060 baht per night for a ground floor room and included a mini buffet breakfast. The only downside was the lack of windows and the slow speed of the in-room WiFi (700 kbps).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#13 of 94 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vientiane Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vientiane Hotel
#19 of 94 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
#26 of 94 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#24 of 94 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LV City Riverine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LV City Riverine Hotel

Property: LV City Riverine Hotel
Address: 48 Fagoum Rd, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your LV City Riverine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing