We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
8
28
57
29
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
8
28
57
29
26
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 148 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Booked online on Agoda but should have checked Tripadvisor before. I travel to VTE approx. 4 times a year for government meetings and my usual little hotel was fully booked so I decided for iHouse which was a poor decision. I arrived at 9 pm and this was already a major challenge for this little place. Unfriendly welcome by the night guard. He showed us to our room 'without windows' and after we complained, the said that this is none of his business and that we can check the next day. So we did not want to put up a fight and slept in the windowless room. The next morning we tried to change the room to no avail. The staff on duty was even less friendly than the night guard so we decided to just stick to the dreadful room for one more night. By the way, we both speak fluent Thai (very similar to Lao language). Oh ja, if you need to use the bathroom or shower, make sure to apply a lot of vasilin to you body since you will otherwise not be able to turn around without scratching your skin :-)

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cape068
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Location is good, room (budget) is as big as a walking closet. Breakfast? Hahahaha, a baguette , some jam and a coffee tat has been sittign for days does not quaify as 'breakfast". Don't wast eyour tiem and have brekkie at the Scandinavian Bakery located a minute away from Ihouse. Service is as good as the breakfast....Beds are ok, AC works well, rooms are clean. For $20/night you can find better options around town. If you are looking for good service (or for any service at all) and to sleep past 7am go elsewhere.

Room tip: IF you want to get a proper size room you will have ti pay $30+ and it is defnitely not worth it
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Okay, so I booked and paid online and made a mistake on the date, and I showed up one day early. Mea Culpa. I supposed I deserved SOME kind of penalty. It was early in the day. They had several rooms free but refused to switch my booking or offer me a refund of even one kip. The nice receptionist called the owner and he said not his problem. He even refused to give me a discount of any kind if I booked for that night. They were booked solid for the next night (or so they said) so it made no sense not to re list my room. Also, when I tried to get to get online to straighten it out, the wifi was completely useless. There are MANY MANY other small places nearby and I had no problem booking a nicer room for the same money. AVOID THIS PLACE! I stayed at Lao Silk Hotel around the corner- much nicer ambiance, nicer views, and a lovely staff.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank KhunKru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iHouse, Owner at iHouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Hi, if you can Read? Please revise your booking cancellation conditions , to remind you the reference below, we were being very kind to you, and what you are doing now, I am sure karma...will bring you what you wish for us.

Cancellation and Change Policy:
Any cancellation received within 7 day/s prior to arrival will incur the first 1 night/s charge. Any cancellation received within 3 day/s prior to arrival will incur the full period charge. Failure to arrive at your hotel will be treated as a No-Show and no refund will be given (Hotel policy).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks on business and ended up moving to another guesthouse. The rooms are nice, although hard beds. But there's aircon and a nice tv. I never was able to have breakfast because I left earlier than the times and its only a bagette (unfortunately I have Coeliacs) so I had to always eat out for breakfast. Its a nice central location, walking distance everywhere. BUT my problems were; the wifi. Several times I had to request them to restart it because it was just cutting out and it was met with a laugh and ok then. The staff are really nice but seem more interested in playing and listening to music than attending to the guests. And when the rooms are cleaned, sometimes its not completed properly, like toilet paper is not there. My other problem was the rooms have no windows. Its alot of money for a place with no windows and I wasnt quite aware of that before arriving. I didnt book any tours through them, due to already seeing most of Lao on a previous trip, but there are alot of bad reviews from what I have seen,
I think that its a nice place but there is alot of room for improvements. I felt very safe here during my stay but seemed to always be going out just to get some air and sunshine. Personally, I think there are better guesthouses in the area and better value for money too

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookeJavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I articulated very well to the staff that I was booking in for the first night, leaving on the second, and coming back on the third and forth night as I would stay at a national park on the second night. Goodness, common sense DID NOT prevail for them not to charge me for the night I didn't stay there. They charged me for 4 nights even though I stayed for 3. They complained to me that I didn't make it clear when I did. In any case, they acted in a VERY UNDERHANDED way - they didn't care about the reality of the situation, for they only ACTED FIRST AND FOREMOST, to rake in as much money as they could possible from their customer. They did not listen to their customer carefully it's worse than talking to a brick wall, that's what frustrates.

Apart from that, they DO OVERCHARGE for the quality of room they have and do not state clearly anywhere that you could be staying in a WINDOWLESS room. Another UNDERHANDED tactic highlighted here. Quoting prices as high as 53USD for a room without a window and feigning value-for-money by bringing it down by half on the website, REALLY DOES NOT IMPRESS. For only a few steps away, good quality hotels quoting reasonable prices do exist. So show a bit of honesty and humility here!

If they continue this way, I will never recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Ms. Grace,

Thank you for your complaint. Please revise back since I personally think you are just trying to unload your bad experiences on ihouse, that we actually give you very good discount, and free upgrade and still now you owe us a dollars because you refuse to paid. We remember not to let you in iHouse ever again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews