We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Bodega

La Bodega
Ranked #277 of 392 Restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect, every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Have had steak and chicken dishes here 10 times in the last year. Always a perfect meal, great taste and very good value. There is outdoor seating, but the indoor tables have a better atmosphere, especially when the restaurant plays Spanish music. Can't understand why we are often the only people eating here when we go for dinner!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lillith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pleasant atmosphere great service and good wine range, we ordered by the glass which were about twice the size of a normal serving.
Local Lao steak was cooked to perfection and very tender, pleased we didn't pay extra for the imported offering.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dickyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“excellent food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

i'm a little reluctant to review this restaurant lest more people come. now it's a pleasant place to visit. i don't have to wait for a table and the service is focused. the food is excellent, both the choices and preparation. the wine list offers a reasonably priced variety. the restaurant is tastefully decorated and the staff attendant to our wishes. all in all, a very, very good restaurant. but please don't go there! i don't want it overrun.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CMKeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food in comfortable surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This restaurant is attentitive to the little things that add up to make a great dining experience.

The bread is some of the best in town. The house wine is better than most of the bottles served elsewhere and their bottles are of excellent quality also.

The Salade Bodega is a perfect mix of greens, melon and cured ham with a wonderful dressing. The warm goat cheese salad is another excellent choice. There is an excellent choice of tapas available to start or you can order enough of them to make a meal.

Paella for the main course and duck are both excellent.

Their panacotta has the right consistency and sweetness, coconut is an added taste benefit.

We have been their 3 times now and the last time we sat outside enjoying the pleasant breezes blowing over the terrace while we ate. With the decorations for the holidays it reminded us of Goa in December.

La Bodega deserves much more notice, its far better than most of the restaurants in the center of town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place for a special night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Have visited La Bodega on several occasions and have never been let down, the place is in fact French but the owners home town is right on the border with Spain so the food is an interesting mixture of French embraced with a tapas touch.
I was recommended the local beef fillet by the owner on one visit as a main and it ranked up there with the one or two other restaurants in VTE that somehow manage to make a wonderfully tender steak, dont bother asking for the secret to tenderizing, he keeps it under wraps as should all restauraunters!
Very calm and laid back atmosphere, extremely clean, staff excellent and attend to every detail.
You can go there as a couple for a nice cozy meal but equally go there with the family or even a bunch of friends, this place suits all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Choppa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to La Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing