We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful designed and worked products from local villages. Great shop!!!”
Review of Saoban

Saoban
Ranked #2 of 25 Shopping in Vientiane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saoban is a fair trade business and a retail outlet for more than 300 village artisans. When you buy from Saoban, you provide employment and training for the artisan, and the profits stay in the village communities. Products include hand woven silk and cotton textiles using natural dyes, indigo ikat textiles, bamboo wares, silver jewellery, bags and accessories.
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful designed and worked products from local villages. Great shop!!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The shop itself is worth a visit to Vientiane. They sell wonderful designed handcrafts made by women in local lao villages. The design is very reduced and modern and all the products are fair trade. Save up all your spending money on presents for this shop. You won't regret. :)
I would have not stumbled upon this place if some nice people would have told me about it. It is in the center of town so you don't even have to go far.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful handcrafts made by local village artisans”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We really liked this store; they offer a lot of handmade woven scarves, beautiful jewelery, and a whole variety of other locally-made products from villages in the areas around Vientiene, Laos. The dyed fabrics are beautifl, the silversmiths create fantastic rings, necklaces and bracelets, and you can purchase bags and other local products, even including bells that you would normally find on water buffalo! It was a gem to find in Vientiene, located very centrally, and the staff is very helpful and friendly, a lot of fun to meet and learn more about. Thanks to everyone there!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ZipZipTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best shop in Vientiane”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Saoban has some of the most beautiful hand-dyed fabrics I have ever seen. My wife and I went in here looking for a tapestry for our home, and came out with much more than we expected. Not only were their products beautiful, everything was made with fair-trade labor. Their prices were great too, much lower than a lot of the other mass produced pieces you find in Laos. The staff and the store were very friendly and told us all about the different products and how they are made. If you find yourself in Vientiane, you definitely need to stop in here!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bballbronco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favourite shop in Vientiane”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

It is such a delight to visit Saoban. Each piece whether a cotton blanket, silk scarf or weaved basket is unique and has a story. I love hearing about the villagers who have made the handicrafts and to know that each purchase is supporting their livelihood. The shop has a wonderful atmosphere. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. You could spend a few hours wondering through the shop trying and looking at all the handicrafts. A definite to put on your list of places to go in Vientiane.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank CaitlinFinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAPAN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful natural dyeing that was lost in other counties.”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I took a silk-stripe stole on 18th Sep. I watched all stores in Vientiane, Saoban deals in the most beautiful and high quality items in Vientiane. And the owner is very kindly. I didn't have enough time , so I want to to talk with her longer and watch much more items. I'm looking forward to visiting.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kaztakayoshimatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saoban also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Saoban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing