We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great full day tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vientiane ByCycle

Vientiane ByCycle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vientiane ByCycle sells awesome guided bicycle tours through and around Vientiane, the capital city of Laos.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great full day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Full marks to Aline for her full day cycling tour - we explored back streets, Temples, gated housing estates and some of the main-stream tourist sites. Along the way Aline gave lots of information about what we were seeing as well as history and culture of Laos. We saw parts of Vientiane we would never have come across on our own, learned loads and had fun while doing it. There was no shortage of water and snacks along the way (which she bought from various local peoples houses and markets) and one of the highlights was a traditional Lao lunch in a Temple, cooked by 2 local ladies - some of the best food we've had so far in Laos.
Highly recommend this tour to really get to know Vientiane.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    11
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“See Vientiane on Bike!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Taking a bike ride through with Vientiane is the best way to see the city! Our family really enjoyed the half-day tour. Aline, our guide, knows the city well and took us along some wonderful routes that proved there is much more to the city than many think. We also saw some interesting cultural and food things that we would have never seen w/out a guide. And the best thing was the tour ended with a great meal at a Buddhist temple. My kids, ages 11 and 15, had no problem with the distance.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beemarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is exactly the sort of experience we were looking for. Off the beaten track, seeing the city through the eyes of someone who lives there and knows it well.

The bikes were true mountain bikes, well maintained.

We had a really fun time weaving through the villages. Thank you Aline.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Isiz_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good experience for tour out time in Vientiane!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked the half day trip that started at 8 a.m and Mike was our guide. Mike is very knowledgeable about Laos and discussed with our how he loves living time in Vientine. Mike who came from The Netherlands is very friendly person and spoke well English. We visited all of the touristy parts of Vientiane but spent most of our time in the countryside cycling along the merkong, over bridges and seeing temples. We had a typical Lao lunch in a temple, amazing location! We really felt that we were getting to know the city. Trip not strenous at all, has good length and the tour is highly recommended as I will explore Vientiane in a conplete diffirent way! Good experience for our time in Vientiane!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Borbely G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This tour is ideal for people who have little time to spend in Vientiane but still want to feel the city life and more generally Laotian. Our guide were Aline and Mike told us many interesting things about the country, people and religion. On this tour I got to see lots of different temples, the countryside, life outside the city. Bikes were well maintained with helmets and bike gloves were supplied, but not enough bike helmets for the entire group, which was one of the bigger ones they had ever had. All in all very interesting!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KamilMurawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vientiane ByCycle also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Vientiane ByCycle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing