We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lao Experiences

Lao Experiences
Ranked #11 of 70 things to do in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lao Experiences offers Lao cooking and culture in Nook's garden by the Mekong River. Learn about ingredients you will use to create your Lao lunch. Make a variety of popular Lao dishes using traditional implements and techniques. Learn secrets of making perfect sticky rice. Meet at The Full Moon Cafe at 8:00am for our Fresh Market Tour & Tasting, 10am for our Lao Cooking Course. Book and pay at The Full Moon Cafe (Rue Francois Ngin) Riverside Precinct the previous day.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I spent the morning cooking with Nook the day of our departure night flight. The garden and setting is lovely and shady. Nook is a patient teacher even for a cooking novice such as myself. Fun day out and something different to do instead of sightseeing. A really enjoyable day and a tasty feast for lunch. Try it!

Helpful?
Thank Dallas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    19
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't eat breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We made the mistake of eating breakfast and were so full after cooking such an amazing lunch. Don't eat breakfast as you cook a lot!It is pricey but is a lovely setting and she is a good teacher that is passionate about food.

Helpful?
Thank explorer3413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Something different for our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I haven't done a cooking class before and we are so glad this was our first one. We opted not to shop in the markets in the beginning (purely because we had so many early mornings before this and couldn't be bothered waking up early enough) but we heard from the others in the group that it was a fun experience. Once we got picked up at the Full Moon Cafe we were taken by Tuk Tuk (I think everyone in our group was Aussie too!) to a gorgeous home by the Mekong River. We learned there was so much involved with preparing Lao dishes, the freshness of the ingredients and food we made was next to nothing. We really enjoyed learning the different techniques of cooking. Miss Nouk was very funny and taught well, we were impressed that she learned English from her cooking students! This was probably our favourite thing we did in Vientiane.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cooking in Vientiane with Miss Nouk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spending a day with Miss Nouk gave us a great insight into life in Vientiane. A visit to the morning market was an education in the ingredients we would use later in our cooking. Who knew there were some many different qualities of rice? (Of course we only used number 1 quality in our dishes.) After the markets we were lead to Kung's cafe. We would never have found this hidden treasure on our own! We were treated to authentic Laos coffee made the grandmother of the compound, followed by half of a sticky rice pancake with mango. Words cannot describe the deliciousness of this dish. (Only eat half because you have a cooking school to do!) Then a short ride out of town to Miss Nouk's house on the banks of the Meekong River.
The school is hands on, with all customers a part of the preparation and cooking. There is much cultural and food knowledge to be gained from Miss Nouk, who is passionate about her country, culture and cooking. But pay attention as Miss Nouk wants things done the right way so that your dish tastes perfect. Our group was five people, so we had lots of individual help. The times goes quickly, despite preparing five dishes, and very soon you are sitting down to eat the dishes you have cooked - and what a feast it is. An authentic Laos meal. Although I will cook the dishes I learned when I get home, I think part of the pleasure of the cooking experience is the setting - in a Loas home next to the Meekong River; the teacher - a local woman keen to share knowledge of her country through cooking; and the company of people with an appreciation of good food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrswills1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cooking class close to the Mekong river, what could be better?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you would like to know more about Lao cooking culture and how to make the faboulous dishes you are served in the restaurant, spend a half day with Lao Experience and you'll be ready to do this at home!

They pick you up with a tuk-tuk in the city of Vientiane and take you directly to beautiful surroundings of the Mekong river around 20 min away from the city. All ingredients are fresh off the market and you'll be cooking in "the home kitchen" in the garden. Depending on the menu, several dishes can be prepared and you'll both be grilling, cutting and steaming several courses. Being a "home-chef" with some previous experience I personally would have liked to be even more challenged and be able to make more dishes myself, however still a lot to do in 3 hours time. The whole cooking is finished with a very nice lunch in the garden eating your prepared dishes and I also was fortunate to be accompanied with some other guests and got my well earned BeerLao. Well done!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao Experiences also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Lao Experiences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing