We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cooking school” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lao Experiences

Lao Experiences
Ranked #11 of 70 things to do in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lao Experiences offers Lao cooking and culture in Nook's garden by the Mekong River. Learn about ingredients you will use to create your Lao lunch. Make a variety of popular Lao dishes using traditional implements and techniques. Learn secrets of making perfect sticky rice. Meet at The Full Moon Cafe at 8:00am for our Fresh Market Tour & Tasting, 10am for our Lao Cooking Course. Book and pay at The Full Moon Cafe (Rue Francois Ngin) Riverside Precinct the previous day.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cooking school”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The cooking school is a must do if you are in Vientiane for the weekend. It's a great way to occupy a morning and learn about the Lao food

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred_Nerkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    19
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A really good day out cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a fun way to spend half a day in Vientiane. Nook, our guide to the morning market and instructor of the Laos cuisine cooking course was fun, informative and passionate about Laos.

The day was very well organised (although slightly inconvenient to go and pay at the Full Moon Cafe the day before to secure your spot) starting with a visit to the morning market. Nook, was knowledgeable about all the different produce on display. We were then taken to a 'off the beaten track' cafe where we enjoyed Laos Coffee and a mango pancake. The best part of the day was going back to the house to learn how to make 4 different Laos dished, followed by lunch in the garden. Yum.


Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ET197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lao cuisine explained”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Informative, atmospheric and photogenic morning market visit (not for the squeamish) followed by Laos coffee (Starbucks watch out) and preparing lunch on the banks of the Mekong. Nook proved a knowledgable and engaging guide to Lao food, ready with tips on everything from cooking your sticky rice to perfection to what to substitute for banana lovers if you're a bit worried about finding them back home.

You can do one of the experience's two parts, but with such a fun 5 hours on offer, why would you?

Helpful?
Thank Maxnuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We decided to take this cookery course only because are one full day in Vientiane was a public holiday and most things were shut. A so glad that we did! The day was a lot of fun, cooking and eating amazing food and chatting with Nook who teaches the class. The ladies who took care of us were welcoming and helpful, making sure that we fully understood everything we were doing. Definitely recommended this is a very worthwhile way to spend a day. Thanks !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fozzie_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“local food charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Go to this place if you are a food lover. Local food tastes good, if you take it without any qualms. What I did love about this place was the friendliness and the charm with which they serve people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao Experiences also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Lao Experiences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing