We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lao Experiences

Lao Experiences
Ranked #12 of 75 things to do in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lao Experiences offers Lao cooking and culture in Nook's garden by the Mekong River. Learn about ingredients you will use to create your Lao lunch. Make a variety of popular Lao dishes using traditional implements and techniques. Learn secrets of making perfect sticky rice. Meet at The Full Moon Cafe at 8:00am for our Fresh Market Tour & Tasting, 10am for our Lao Cooking Course. Book and pay at The Full Moon Cafe (Rue Francois Ngin) Riverside Precinct the previous day.
QC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

It's not perfect -- If you're looking for luxury -- This is not the place to go. But, if you're looking for beautiful landscapes despite having to bear with squat toilets and bugs, then this place is for you! I had a wonderful experience riding a motorbike around Laos with my boyfriend. If you want to know more about my experience, check out my travel journal -- http://traveladventurephotographyaddict.blogspot.com/2011/10/25-days-of-laos-part-1.html

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank triptripgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    19
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Join the Hash House Harriers for fun in Vientiane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

For some great treks around the Vientiane capital that you will not find on any tourist map, join the Hash House Harriers every Monday at 4:30/5:00? for a fun walk/jog and dinner afterward. A great way to meet residents and visitors to Vientiane.

On Saturdays, meet at Namphu fountain at 3:45PM for transport out of town to the Vientiane Bush HHH. For more information visit www.hashlaos.com/.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank jimedens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Lao Experience cooking class was a great way to enjoy a morning in Vientiane.The quality of the ingredients was excellent,so fresh. The Ladies teaching were easy to understand,gave clear instructions and made the whole time enjoyable. My husband and 15yr old had a fabulous time.The setting is unique,beautiful Lao garden on the Mekong.Highly recommend this experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abersee, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendlier people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The local people there was so innocent , friendly , I loveed this country . Please come and learn custom , culture experience

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank archuletas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The place was fantastic, the food was amazing.
Totally loved it.

It costs about 35$ per person.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Margo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao Experiences also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Lao Experiences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing