We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners!”
Review of Kongkhao - CLOSED

Kongkhao
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Traditional Lao house set close to Mekong River. Leafy green eating & air-conditioned indoor eating. Children's room and outdoor play area. Lao fusion restaurant with Western-style brunch on weekends. Happy hour 6-9pm every Thursday, Jam Session every Friday from 8pm, Live Music Sunday afternoons from 2-5pm, gallery space upstairs.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Owners!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Kong Khao has new owners paul & Clarissa, they resurrected the friday night jam sessions the food was great the service excellent & a great beer garden out front to relax in.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Perthgal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    6
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great food and atmosphere. The pumpking soup has an amazing flavor and I dislike most pumpkin dishes. The money bags are definite must. Communal style dinning is the way to go. If you order seprate dishes everyone will eat at diffrent times, but the dishes are large enought to share comfortably between three. The entrance to the cafe is a bit off putting, but missleading. I highly recommend this place. The only place I've taken the time to review.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ambience and Great Food in Vientiane”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of sharing dinner with friends at this restaurant in Vientiane and had an amazing experience.
The atmosphere from when you enter the understated entrance is amazing. I loved the garden setting and peaceful ambience and the soft music floating over the fairy lit trees as we enjoyed our meals and drinks. I was then blown away by the culinary delights when my food arrived.
I have been coming and going from Vientiane now for 4 years and had not even heard of this restaurant which is in walking distance of the city centre and my hotel. I will be returning on a regular basis now and look forward to enjoying one of the jam session nights and other special event nights that I have heard are planned.
Great restaurant, good service and amazing food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDHayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great food, great atmosphere and great for kids. We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJSPNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Line yourself up with a Kongkhao event and brace yourself for a memorable evening”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The initial attraction with the Kongkhao was the different menu and nice setting.....then we discovered the jam sessions. Great fun, with a core of regulars and so it seems irregulars of the transient variety. There seems to be an endless procession of some seriously cool musicians travelling through Laos, who discover the Kongkhao, discover beerlao, and give it up for the bystanders. Terrific vibe and energy, and occasionally these sessions end up outlasting the official Vientiane curfew - which doesn't happen in the more commercial centre of town.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kongkhao also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing