We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away horrible people horrible guesthouse”
Review of Mixok Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mixok Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Stay away horrible people horrible guesthouse”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

After an amazing time in Laos meeting lovely Laos people my attitude has completely changed by staying here. the rooms are basic and dirty - no one wants to help you here they wont give you directions and try and rip you of by overcharging. The way they speak to you makes you feel uncomfortable. There are numerous cheaper better guest houses here please do book with these giving them money when there's better places around with plea sent people

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inman1540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    47
    37
    14
    12
See reviews for
2
55
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The room was decent and seemed clean enough but the staff bald face lied and informed me that my friend who had left before me and paid half the bill had never paid, taking us for about 12 extra dollars. This was no misunderstanding. He lied plain and simple. If you're going to stay here pay very close attention to the bill and do not trust the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayeemsuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This review is for the Mixok inn, located 50m from the guesthouse. I also visited the guesthouse but preferred to pay a couple of extra $ as the rooms are much better in the Inn.
Room was perfect, on the corner of the building so with two large windows, both of which had very convenient mosquito nets.
Location is perfect, you cannot have more central. Only inconvenient is that therefore it can be a bit noisy but it did not bother me.
Wifi works really well, and TV is not the most recent but has lots of channels including international ones.
Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoundMyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Although not very welcoming looking with an internet-cafe-look reception, narrow staircase, foul corridors and a generally old and not-maintained impression, this guesthouse earns a 3 for its value for money (the room was ok), super fast wifi in all rooms all floors (for being vientiane), and its included breakfast (which is simple but for the money, alright). Location is perfect and close to tourist streak and night market.

The room was quite small in relation to the size of bed (which was big and very comfortable). But there wasnt much space apart from that occupied by the bed. But I guess rooms in a such old funky building come in various sizes and shapes.

Nearby lies the top-rated and slightly more expensive Vayakorn Guesthouse. This has expanded and created a Vayacorn Inn in the same block. Mixok has now copied this strategy and implemented a newer Mixok Inn on the same street 50 meters from the guesthouse (has same prices for rooms when I checked), with a small restaurant at bottom floor. This is also where you will walk to get your free breakfast.

Mixok Inn is newer and looks nicer, although I havent stayed here. If I were to return and stay in Mixok Guesthouse, I would first ask for rooms in the Mixok Inn to have breakfast close and with the possibility to maybe have a better room (although I point out that I dont know abt rooms here).

Beware of the tourist tuk-tuks outside with extremely inflated prices. If you ask a destination, and they show you a laminated card with "standard fixed prices", this is a scam. Prices on this card are at least double of what any Lao person would pay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed in a double a/c room on the fourth floor. Staff seems to have a policy of lying to possible guests coming through the door about only having one single and one double room left. The room we booked around 2pm was apparently the "last double" and we heard three other guests (who subsequently booked) told the same thing after us as we hung out in the lobby doing trip planning throughout the afternoon. Four last rooms? Hmmm. Room smelled foul, I assume due to sewage. It was fairly small and overpriced for Laos. Questionably clean sheets. Good hot water and good location, though. Rate does include breakfast but even by "free breakfast" standards, it was pretty bad and there are many better places to eat in Vientiane.

The place displays several signs saying that they have a strict "no prostitute or lady boy" in the rooms policy but we watched the night desk employee facilitate a "transaction" between a prostitute and a local, both of whom left after about half an hour, returning a room key to the desk clerk. Hypocritical and who wants to stay in a room that has already been "occupied"?

We've read that there's a shortage of good, budget places to stay in Vientiane but would still stay elsewhere if we visited again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sovls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Had a double room, a/c, bathroom, tv, wifi and breakfast was included.
The room was clean but the bathroom smelled bad (presume it was the floor waste).
Staff were good, location was excellent.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We travelled through Vientiane in March during the high season, it was hellish finding a room. After a night in the only run down hotel that had vacancy we got up early and started our search. Since most affordable places don't (and don't need to) take reservations we walked up the street checking each place as we went. We almost stayed at Mixay Paradise but the guy gave our room away while we went to get our bags from our original guesthouse even though we were gone less than 20 minutes and confirmed we wanted it. He then tried to offer us a stuffy room with no windows for $15 but we declined.

We found Mixok Guesthouse, did a quick inspection of the room and booked in. $15 including breakfast for a double. Not bad in a city that has more guests than affordable beds. We ended up staying 4 nights. The guesthouse looked like it was only a couple years old and, well maintained, and well constructed.

The room was on the second floor at the top of the stairs facing the back. The room was spacious and really clean, with a window, nice view, A/C, cable TV (with English channels), fan, and a nice table to sit at. Bathroom was a decent size, and super clean with a good shower and plenty of water pressure.

The main lady who runs the place is awesome. She was really friendly to us and always greeted us in and out of the place. The rest of the staff were nice but they mostly kept to themselves and watched TV unless you needed something. The cleaners were always nice and smiled and said hi whenever they passed us.

Breakfast is over at the slightly more expensive but newer Mixok Inn. Its the usual baguette, omelette, coffee, and some kind of fruit. The staff serving breakfast at Mixok Inn were always very pleasant and smiling.

The location is perfect, right on the edge of the action, with tons of cafes, bars, restaurants, and walking or biking distance to most of the attractions.

We booked our bus tickets to Thailand from here. They were very reasonably priced under $10pp (can't remember the exact figure) including pick-up at the hotel.

If you're looking for an affordable, comfortable, simple guesthouse than you'll most likely be very satisfied with Mixok. Our stay was a great one.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are a bit more quiet but rooms in the front have easy access to the communal balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coconutfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.0 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#46 of 93 in Vientiane
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#9 of 197 in Vientiane
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mixok Inn
Mixok Inn
#19 of 101 in Vientiane
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
KP Hotel 2
KP Hotel 2
#38 of 197 in Vientiane
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#4 of 197 in Vientiane
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixok Guesthouse

Property: Mixok Guesthouse
Address: 126 12 Setthathirath Road | City Centre, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixok Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mixok Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixok Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing