We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and great location”
Review of Win Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Win Hotel
Ranked #61 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Shenzhen
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff and great location”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed at Win hotel 19th this month with my group of 11, all of us enjoyed the hotel, the location and the staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast served at the hotel was very nice. Highly recommended to stay there if you looking for a nice mid range hotel central in Vientiane. Will for sure come back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP-Oi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
2
19
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Win hotel (formally and still widely known as Van Huong Hotel) has it's good and bad points. It's in a good location,the free breakfast is very good & the man behind the desk is super cool. But the rooms are very average (but clean) and the beds are pretty hard, which i think is about normal for this part of the world. I think if i returned to Laos i might try to find a better value place but wouldn't be to bummed if i ended up hear again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ageiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Recently stayed here 5th-8th Nov. On day of leaving I notice $350 cash equivalent had been stolen from my wallet stored in wardrobe. Informed the management at 11.30. They rounded up the 3 room cleaners for questioning - for my benefit ? They told me they all denied it. So I requested the police be called. No immediate need for me to be there, expecting searches of cleaners rooms/cupboards/etc that cleaners used. Returned a couple of hours later to be told most police celebrating some festival and no-one available. Due to head to airport in 30 mins but still no-one arrived. Handed over my email address requesting a copy of the police report ( translated important bits) which they agreed to do.
In taxi for 5 mins when hotel phoned driver to say Police had arrived but it was too late to turn back - they knew the time of my flight.
A couple of days went by and never heard anything so emailed them.
They confirmed the police came after I left and report would be submitted to the Ministry of Tourism. They also included a photo of "my" wardrobe where it is allegedly stated "hotel cannot be responsible for valuables left in room" dont recall seeing anything but understand normal practice. As it was supposed to be a mid-range hotel did not expect this!
Emailed again asking for a copy of the police report, no response. A further email elicited nothing.
Will be contacting the police & ministry for tourism to see if they really reported the theft, and if this has happened before at this hotel as it changed it's name - dodgy ?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GC05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vientiane hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Extremely pleasant and helpful clerk. Centrally located. Room was small and drab. Water damage on the walls. Hardest bed I have ever encountered. Probably worth spending a few more bucks for something nicer.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

There is a lovely friendly lady (didnt get her name) who was very helpful throughout our stay, she spoke excellent English.

The hotel is a budget hotel so don't expect too much ... but we had a few problems with our room and bathroom door. Our room door was very difficult to open you had to try several times before it would open and didn't have the safest lock. Our second problem was our bathroom door... when we first arrived I used the toilet so of course I closed the bathroom door but the problem was I couldn't get out I was locked in. Don't worry I made it out a few minutes after my friend got housekeeping . We asked to move rooms but they sent someone to fix it instead .... the door was still a bit funny so we didn't close the bathroom door for the rest of our stay.

The room is a ok size but has a very small bathroom . There is also a small tv, fridge, fan as well as aircon in the room.

The hotel is in a pretty good location if you take a right out of the hotel and walk straight for about 10 mins you reach the mekong river which has a night market. If you take a left and walk to the end of the road and cross over there is a food vendor market and very small fair ground type games and rides filled with locals (only open in the evenings I believe). There are also quite a few temples within walking distance about 15 to 20 min walk.

The hotel also offers free WiFi which we found weak on the second floor, they had computers you could use for 10000 kip an hour. I wouldn't recommend using their laundry service they are very expensive at 18000 kip per kg, you will find plenty places offering laundry for 10000 kip per kg .

Overall a decent place for price has good location and friendly service they just need keep up with room maintenance .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We checked if fine, but make sure you have the address before you get in a TukTuk because the Hotel has recently changed names. Our room was fine. An OK size with everything we needed. The bed was solid, but the mattress was wrapped in plastic, which was good because it meant the mattress was clean, but bad because it meant the sheets slipped off in the night.

Other than that, we had a great stay, the WIFI worked great, the aircon was very good and the location was fine. It was just on the edge of the main area, but it was quiet at night and had a supermarket close and a great cafe. The river is about a 10 minute walk away.

We stayed here during the Laos new year. The staff were amazing, they invited us to join in the celebrations. Sharing alcohol and food with us all day and night! We had a great time and everyone made us feel at home!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#21 of 93 in Vientiane
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heuan Lao
Heuan Lao
#64 of 197 in Vientiane
24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#13 of 197 in Vientiane
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nalinthone Guesthouse
Nalinthone Guesthouse
#76 of 197 in Vientiane
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Souksavanh Guest House
Souksavanh Guest House
#93 of 197 in Vientiane
8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suksavanh River 2 Hotel
Suksavanh River 2 Hotel
#56 of 197 in Vientiane
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Win Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Win Hotel

Property: Win Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Road | Ban Anou, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 2000, Laos (Formerly Vanhuong Hotel)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Win Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Win Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing