We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Sensational Salana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salana Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Naremburn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply Sensational Salana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

All positive reviews about this hotel are true. I would like to stress however one aspect of this hotel that for us worked particularly well and that is it's location. I do not think you could do better in Vientiane ...it is brilliantly close to the "centre" of this city and all that entails .... restaurants, shops, sights and the night market.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank einnob078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    307
    65
    8
    3
See reviews for
94
373
119
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

When I say "Little" its not really small at all , its a very polished and professional hotel with lots of its own, very nicely lettered vehicles of various sizes, used for pick ups and drop offs. The hotel is near to everything worth seeing in Vientiane (A real mini Paris with its own Arc de Triumph).

We had a great room and the staff are really friendly and have great language skills.

We visited the bar on the top floor a couple of times, its like a living room complete with a library and we were always the only ones there. The bar is indoors but there is an outdoor balcony if you don't care about the A/C.

In the evening we could spot lights sweeping the sky so we went to investigate and it turned out to be a Carlsberg open air concert with live music and free entry . Next to the concert area there was a large pizza restaurant and a very popular American ice cream restaurant (packed out with local people). It did not seem very "Laos" ish and we felt that we had been beamed to somewhere else in the world ,but is was fun. Sorry! thats nothing to do with the hotel except that, like everything else, it was only a couple of minutes walk away from the Salana.

There is NOTHING about this hotel that you could find fault with. The breakfast ranks along with the best of them, and the hotel is spotless. Next time I go to Vientiane I will book a room well in advance as I really would not want to stay anywhere else !

Very well done Team Salana.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the hotel, the last time in Dec 13 and on both occassions found the hotel to be clean and efficiently managed. The staff are very friendly and couldnt do more to make your stay a pleasant experience. I cant think of anything negative and would especially like to commend MS Chintana for her valiant attempts to teach me the lao language (3 phrases a day for 30 days and you have 90 - I'm not on track, but did learn a lot).

Room Tip: The view over the temple is nice but the view up the bustling street is also interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Spotless hotel with an amazing location, superb rooms, delicious food and an unbeatable staff that really treats you like family ! I lived it and I loved it !!!! I would very highly recommend this hotel to everybody . Angar is the nicest person and an amazing tour guide !

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keota T, Public Relations Manager at Salana Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greeting from Salana Boutique hotel and thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for your kind words. This will help us to keep up on our good work and process further.

I will make sure to spread the words to all of our staff especially Mr.Angar.

He will be very happy to hear about your comments!

Please keep in touch and take care until we see you for your next trip to Vientiane!

Best regards,
Keota T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
421 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Like just about even hotel we stayed in in SEA this one had a Buddhist temple across the road, which is lovely. The hotel was fine but we booked a large room which we did not get because they were spraying for mosquitoes. I have no problem with spraying for mossies but there was no refund for the changed room just a sorry. The food was great and it was only 5 mins walk to the night market.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nglenjarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keota T, Manager at Salana Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greeting from Salana Boutique hotel and thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor.

All of your reviews will help us to improve.

I am quite surprised to hear about your experience with us about the mosquito spray.

Normally, we only ask the guest to leave the room for an hour during mosquito spray and there is no need to change or cancel any room.

If possible, I would like to have more information about this so I can fix this properly.

Please kindly contact me at wecare@salanaboutique.com to discuss further.

Best regards,
Keota T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Whether you're on holiday or on a business trip, this is a great place to stay if you're in Vientiane (albeit top end). Great location, friendly staff, lovely decor/artwork, good rooms, and a nice bar with an outside balcony.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Salana Hotel is easily one of the best in Vientiane. It's well laid out with decent décor and exudes tranquility, despite being in the middle of town. It's well situated for most of the city centre attractions (such as there are in Vientiane...) and decent restaurants.
The superior room we took was a bit small (24m2) considering the rack rate, but it was discounted, so OK on balance. All the usual facilities are there.
Service was unobtrusive and efficient.
Overall, a good hotel but in my view the rates are too high for the size of rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shedheadabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#6 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Property: Salana Boutique Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing