We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salana Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$98
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dhavara Hotel(Vientiane)
$118
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vayakorn Inn(Vientiane)
$30
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$52
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lao Plaza Hotel(Vientiane)
$157
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lao Orchid Hotel(Vientiane)
$53
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveler rating
587
348
71
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
348
71
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketthe riverfourth floornice hotelcentral locationbreakfast buffetwalking distanceairport pickluang prabangdeluxe roomcomfortable staylocation is excellentvisit vientianemini barrooms are largespatemple
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Spent two nights in the Salana. It is stylish and centrally located, with a blend of modern and traditional decor that works well. The rooms are quite small, and the service, whilst very friendly is a little ineffectual, especially at breakfast ( although to be fair this is the norm for Laos ). I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Salana hotel
This hotel is absolutely wonderful. Located next to temple and the night market, it offers a convenient hotel for a short stay in the capital, as the major parts of this city are accessible. Also, every morning at 5am to 5:45am, people line outside the sidewalk of the hotel and give offerings to the monks who live in the Wat adjacent to the hotel. Giving alms and receiving a chant from the monks is something that can't be missed.

ACCOMMODATION
We stayed on the 5th floor away from the lift which is at the opposite end of the corridor. The room was not very large but it was nicely finished and equipped. We spent very little time there as there was so much to see from Vientiane. Although it was not very noisy, get a room away from the street an avoid the 4th floor rooms. There is a very nice bar on that floor and when people leave, it can be a little loud.

LOCATION
Centre of town and easy to access most of the main sites. You can get a tuk tuk to go to the sites farther away for 40-50k kip.

FOOD AND BEVERAGE
The breakfast buffet was adequate, but not special. There are other options within walking distance, but we chose to have our coffees, fresh fruit and toast at the hotel. They also prepare cooked eggs (scrambled, omelette, fried) and pancakes/waffles on request.

The bar on the 4th floor is wonderful. It is very spacious and has a very comfortable atmosphere. We looked for other places nearby for a drink after dinner, but in the end could not find anything as good as the bar in the hotel. The price of the drinks were surprisingly reasonable. The bill for 4 cocktails costs about 12 USD

STAFF
They made a real difference to our stay. Everyone from the front desk staff to the cleaning people were very hospitable. They provided useful information on the town and how best to get around.

TIPS
- Tuk Tuk : Using a Tuk Tuk is safe and a great way to get around, but you need to be clear where you are going and negotiate a price before the journey. Showing a map and the location you want to go before the journey helps.
- Laundry : There are a number of places that will wash you clothing for you and charge the approximately the same amount - 10k kip per kilo, with a pick up at the end of the same day if you give to them before 10am. There is laundry service at the end of the same street as the hotel, towards the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy street and avoid the 4th floor. Try to get a room on the top floor - 6th
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, lovely staff - good choice. Room size was ok (not really big room), nice furniture, very clean. Somehow it felt like the stuff was really friendly but in the mean time stiff & very formal. Difficult to discribe .. Anyway .. I was happy there, everything was clean, the bed was soft & cosy - nothing to complain. I expected some special Lao dishes for the breakfast like sticky cocos rice .. The place is nice and good and great location next to planty of bars, cafes and across the Vat. But somehow it was not that special I expected so I've dicided to move to another place to get a really cool view over the Mekong.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A brilliant Boutique Hotel, right in the heart of Vientiane, just a short stroll from the Mekong, Chinatown, or a great variety of Restaurants.
The staff are friendly, happy and have a concern that you do enjoy yourself, and nothing is too much trouble for them to do for you. The bar is on the 4th floor that over looks a busy street scene, and the drinks are cheap, and mixed very well. My wife and I judge a bar on its Long Island Teas, and this bar is high on the scale of good ones... not as good as the Kuala Lumpur Parkroyal, but very nice indeed.
The decor is lovely with timber panelling everywhere, and the rooms have 10 foot ceilings, so they feel light and airy. Shower and bath facilities are very modern. This place is a real hidden gem, though unfortunately some Seppos were here when we arrived, but they left, taking their bad manners and their noise with them, leaving peace, and quiet.
A brilliant hotel, a hidden gem, and great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room if you want constant theatre. Ask for a Wat (west) facing room for quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snerd45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Salana Boutique hotel is simply stunning.
It offered us everything we were looking for and...more.
From the welcome at the concierge, Chintana is a well of knowledge and beautiful smiles. All of our questions and requests were promptly answered or attended to. In absolutely perfect English!!
Our suite was spacious, very, very comfortable with lovely views of the Mekong river.
Spotless clean. Massive bed. All comforts provided.
Yes, 50% deposit is required to confirm the booking but that leaves you a choice of settling in cash, so, not to attract a further 3% credit card fee.
Breakfast is delicious. Even coffee is first class.
Salana is 3 minutes walk to the Mekong River with its beautiful night market and lovely sunsets.
The location is perfect : easy walk to all the main monuments.
Definitely we would love to go back to Salana and we highly recommend it. For pleasure or for business. Thank you to all the Staff. Chintana: we already miss your special smile!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 602. Very quiet. With balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews