We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located for anything you would want to do in central Vientiane. We stayed in October 2012, it was very very hot and humid. The hotel was very pleasant, cool and relaxing.
The room was very large and on the 2nd floor, I thought this would be a bad thing, but wasn't at all. Well glazed windows made for a quiet room, but we could look out and watch all the fascinating people outside. The room was super comfortable, bathroom was great, TV and wifi were excellent. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet very much, huge selection. We also had lunch in the restaurant and the food and service were exemplary. The hotel staff were very pleasant and professional. The rooftop bar is wonderful, kind of empty much of the time which is too bad
since it has great views and excellent drinks. The hotel is a very nice place to stay in a very busy city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
There are newer reviews for Salana Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 917 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

This Hotel is in the ideal location. The room and bathroom were very clean and very comfortable beds. The amenities were wonderful. The staff was the best part of this hotel, friendly and helpful. They made our stay so relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunitakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location and also because it figures at #1 on T.P. First approach was not at all inspiring: we were left waiting on arrival at the airport for over 30/40 minutes, perhaps they had forgotten we were due on that day, after 2 or 3 phone calls at last someone arrived. A clean, modern hotel with free wi-fi, within walking distance to the river promenade, the best restaurants, the night market and... the chance to use your much cheaper Thai sim card to make overseas calls because of its vicinity to the Mekong river and the Thai border. Breakfast not exceptional in that there was not much western food for those who do not eat eggs, no pastries, cakes or else, not much fruits either, staff generally kind and smiling but not fluent in english. Large room, spacious bathroom, safe, hairdyer. Laundry prices only cover the washing but not the ironing, so we had to return our shorts to be ironed which had never happened in any other place. Also had a massage at their spa: the hardest ever had, could hear our bones cracking during the session, fortunately we exited in one piece! Had dinner every night at the Makphet restaurant which is almost opposite and enjoyed every bite, it is run by a community that traines and employs as waiters street boys and girls to offer them a better chance in life. It is run in a very professional way, menu very interesting features local fusion food, prices very reasonable and is always full so you might have to either wait for your turn or book in advance, it closes at 9 p.m. All in all it was a pleasant stay mainly because of the location of this hotel, I agree with other travellers that it cannot be called a "boutique" hotel but it certainly is one of the best in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I am an SPG guy all around and when there isn't a Starwood Hotel brand in a spot that I am going to, I tend to pick the top Tripadvisor rated hotels. Everything about the Salana Hotel was fantastic. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor is beautiful and the rooms were very well decorated. It makes me want to revisit being loyal to one brand and going back to the days where finding little gems like the Salana make an ordinary business trip memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Clean, modern, free Wifi - has all of these. But it is also in a great location, within easy walking distance of most of the recommended restaurants, the river promenade and the night market (though not a thrilling shopping experience.) What I found most charming was the earnest and helpful staff, who spoke excellent English and made good restaurant recommendations. They even have a wonderful map with all the eateries and important sights (and some shopping) highlighted. They do not have a pool but for an extra fee you can use the one at another neighborhood hotel.

Room Tip: We got a deluxe twin that faced the street, although on a low floor. Fun to watch the traffic in an...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located, but doesn't have the "feel" of a boutique hotel. The rooms are lovely, as are the bathrooms, and the buffet breakfast is over the top - it even includes dim sum, as well as eggs and soup to order! But there is no really comfie gathering spot to lounge in and talk to others, exchanging experiences. Perhaps if they rearranged the lobby area they could come up with a more welcoming, less formal atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We chose this hotel for 3 nights as a birthday treat for my husband. The most expensive hotel for our 3 week trip of Cambodia/Laos/Vietnam. We were pleased with the location.
Our superior room was quite nice. Large bed was comfortable with nice linens. Bathroom was spacious but towels were not great - appreciated the bathrobes though. Huge tv on the wall - something we really don't need on holiday.
Kettle and tea/coffee in the room,but we were desperate for cold drinks only. As usual the mini -bar was overpriced so we did not bother. There are plenty of shops outside the hotel selling sodas and water for a third of the price.
We went for cocktails on the 4th floor. Lucky for my husband - he chose a beer. Cocktails nothing like I have ever had before. Did not go back. There are bars all around doing gin and tonic for 24kips and beer for 10.
Breakfast. The first morning we went in at 8.30 and were shown to a table. No menu. We looked at the hot food in the buffet and every container was almost empty! I said to the waitress there was no food. She said sory and went into the kitchen, Then we saw another table get eggs delivered so we ordered eggs and made some toast. They poured tea and coffee but you have to beckon them over to ask for another cup.
Breakfast on day 2 we were given a menu so I ordered an omelette .which turned out to be not that well cooked. Should have stuck to fried egg. Our table had not been cleaned from the last person sitting there -there was a big dirty mark on it. The buffet had a lot more food on day 2.
Day 3 we ordered poached eggs and got mess on a plate. I gave up on it and had some dim sum from the buffet. Service in this restaurant is absolutely terrible. There is no way we would have considered eating lunch or dinner in here. There are a lot of staff all doing nothing - they don't seem to be interested in you unless you are coming in or leaving. More air con needed as well in the restaurant.
The nicest staff were the receptionists and the boys on the door.
For the money we paid here for 3 nts it was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MultiTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#6 of 93 in Vientiane
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $90 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing