We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here a few days while in Vientiane. The staff were mostly friendly and the rooms very confortable. It is convieniatly located near many shops and restaurants. Breakfast buffet was good with a wide range of food to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elzy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    311
    65
    8
    3
See reviews for
96
384
122
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

In a central Vientiane location, Salana is an almost luxurious oasis steps away from wherever most want to go.

The staff are among the best I have experienced at any ranking of hotel, in any country.

The standard rooms are, quite surprising, of standard size. Rooms are well-appointed with a fully stocked mini-bar and a modern, electronic safe.

Best feature? A working high-speed internet connection!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobH966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here for two nights when passing through Vientiane. I had heard mixed things about the city, but as it turned out I found it to be a great place to visit. In part this was due to my visit coinciding with the That Luang festival (fantastic!), but my experience of the Salana Boutique Hotel certainly helped too.

We got a taxi from the airport to the hotel (15 mins at most), which the driver was able to find with ease. The reception staff were friendly and the rooms comfortable, modern and clean. My room was at the back of the hotel and therefore very quiet, but the road outside the hotel is not remotely busy so I can't imagine it matters where your room is. Breakfast is fine with a decent selection in the light and airy dining room. There are also a couple of free PC terminals with internet on the way into the dining room, which is useful for luddites to me who travel without laptops and smart-phones so can't take advantage of wi-fi.

The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the Mekong, which is an impressively wide sight in Vientiane and alongside which runs pleasant promenade. It's also easy to walk into the city centre to most of the main sights from the hotel too, but they will also arrange a comfortable lift in a hotel vehicle should you wish them too. Worth it if heading to Pha That Luang which is a bit further away than most of the sights. We also got a transfer to the airport after our all too short stay.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
389 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,036 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The receptions speak good english the two lady was nice. though they couldnt locate us in the same floor. the room was actually quite cramp. the bathroom was ok. I just dont understand why they have an empty space inside the bathroom and put in a vase. I think its because of their feng shui or something.

the breakfast dim sum was nice. the hotel was sooo cramp, but they win because of their location. the night market and the main street. wake up in the 5.30 and go down, you will find a group of monk walking for a morning offering. it was nice.

My cousin forgot her sandals, and we're already in luang prabang. we called them asked them to send it by airplane. but they didnt send the sandals, but some charger. and that cost 35usd.

and oh the massage was great as well

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PapayaMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Salana Boutique Hotel is located perfectly - smack bang in the middle of everything there is to see in Vientiane. The decor is lovely and the staff were friendly. Rooms were fairly quiet, with a bit of street noise the only thing to contend with - but not much, and certainly better than other places we've stayed at since in Laos.Restaurant breakfast is generous. It is a lot pricier than other hotels in Vientiane but if you're prepared to pay a bit more, this hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaandtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
281 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early and a car was waiting for me at the airport. The service at the hotel was excellent and a room was organized for me within half an hour of arrival (early in the morning).

I needed an extra room as friends were joining me and the staff went out if their way to accommodate the request even though the hotel was full.

The rooms were really comfortable with great beds, amenities and a safe which could house a computer.

The hotel rents out bicycles which were really affordable which made a ride down the promenade possible.

The location is perfect with the morning alms service taking place outside the hotel.

Chintana was especially friendly on organizing our check out and I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Overall, the Salana is a nice hotel. The rooms were clean and well-decorated, the breakfast buffet was good, and the upstairs lounge was very pleasant.

However, there are a few things that prevent it from being a great hotel. First, the service was usually just okay and once in a while less than okay. The staff seemed easily overwhelmed and could be curt.

Secondly, despite being fairly pricey for the area, it seemed the hotel was trying to milk the guests all they could. For example, if you book a taxi through them you will pay $20 more than if you book it down the street. Want to send a postcard? It is $2 just to have them put a stamp on it and mail it.

Finally, there were little things like stained tablecloths at breakfast, mosquitoes in the lounge, and limited English skills that make this hotel, nice, but not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peegfeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Property: Salana Boutique Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing