We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute joy!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salana Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Salana Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“An absolute joy!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a jewel .... The Salana is wonderful. A beautiful hotel in the heart of Vientiane. Spotlessly clean, absolute exceptional service, a real boutique experience.

The rooms are spacious, beautiful decor, very clean. I simply have to comment on the beds. This must be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. It is unbelievably comfortable with equally comfortable pillows covered in exquisitely clean linen. It may seem a silly thing to comment on dear reader but it is truly memorable. Wish I could take this bed home!

Bathroom was very well stocked of all kinds of toiletries and again spotlessly clean.

Breakfast very good. Not an extensive range you would find in large five star hotel but it provides all of the usual. Consists of the hot and cold buffet as well as a menu based egg service.
A very nice bar / library is available on the fourth floor.

The level of service is truly exceptional from check in, to day to day queries re tours, to wake up call requests at reception to the amazing service n the restaurant for all meals.

An absolute jewel.

An sincere thank you and heartfelt well done and compliments to ALL STAFF.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SafferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    307
    65
    8
    3
See reviews for
94
373
119
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Vientiane doesn't have much to offer but this hotel is pleasant, clean and well situated. Easy walking distance to the river and night markets. Lots of good coffee shops nearby. Many eating options and tuk tuk drivers around. Don't forget to bargain with the tuk tuks. We had a low room overlooking the temple but had no trouble with noise. Staff pleasant and most spoke reasonable English. There is no exchange facility at the hotel itself, but we were directed to a money changing facility not far away. Be aware that they charge 50% more for van transfer to airport if they consider it 'early', even if the staff are on duty already.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loxmif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to arrive at the Salana Boutique Hotel, expecting very little but finding a lovely boutique hotel that would be considered 4 stars in any city. Well kept, well decorated, well appointed, nicely situated, and very comfortable. Staff very welcoming. The breakfast was simple (for an Asian hotel) but definitely adequate.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the street and was very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeHop2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Perfect central location, yet quiet, chic, well appointed with quality of service creating an oasis of comfort. Had none of the issues others have described. Great breakfast buffet plus cooked to order options. No pool, but worth the trade off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loubes-Bernac, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here and this was a very nice hotel. The most outstanding thing about the hotel was the attentive and welcoming staff who greeted you by name and catered to your every need. The rooms was a bit smaller than expected but comfortable, clean, and quiet. Just down the street was a variety of restaurants, shopping, an ATM, bookstore, and the river. We had a limited amount of time to see the sites of Vientiane and were able to book a tour through the hotel. Very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstelleGutieres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Salana boutique hotel was well positioned in the central area of the town convenient to the bars/restaurants. The hotel was well furnished and our room was large with wooden floors , the ensuite had a jacuzzi bath which was a bit of fun.


Breakfast was good and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallycolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the salana boutique in vientian for 5 nights .the hotel good loacation its look like westerm hotel with strong wifi,good food and wonderfull staff .alovely rooftop bar area.next time i have change to go to laos i will stay here, i love you guy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chien066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#6 of 97 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salana Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salana Boutique Hotel

Property: Salana Boutique Hotel
Address: Chao Anou Road, 112 | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salana Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the most central located hotel in Vientiane, the SALANA Boutique Hotel home is a wonderful authentic hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. The hotel offers world class accommodation in the heart of the city, sure to impress even the most discerning traveler with its 12 superior, 24 deluxe, 2 suites, 3 Salana suites. Our central location together with various facilities will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Salana Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing