We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal in Vientiane but…”
Review of Mixay Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mixay Paradise
Ranked #10 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is certainly a good value in the center of Vientiane, but because there is caveat! make sure to check your room before you commit. Some rooms are just awful, yes they have windows but they open on the corridors! so make sure you get a room at the front or better at the back… and that is just 1/3 of the rooms in the hotel… Also in my view do not bother with the lousy breakfast, when you have half a dozen pleasant coffee places within a hundred yards! It's also run like a backpacker place.

Room Tip: And yes it's difficult to book by email or else as you have no guarantee to get an ok room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 367 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

A good value for the money at a good price point. I looked around after my first night there and everything I found in the vicinity was either more expensive, or lower quality. It's clean and the fan rooms on the shaded side of the building are worth the price.

The notable characteristic of the Mixay Paradise is that it has the most signs of any hotel on the planet. Every five feet, every bathroom, every floor, the elevator, the stair case, the main desk, your room, tells you over and over again their rules about (no) smoking, lost keys, (no) drinking, disallowed guests, not doing laundry, noise, quiet hours, checkout time, shoe policy, and on and on and on.

(I've taken an informal poll of 3 other people and 100% of us agree)

You end up feeling like a child in reform school, where you have either broken or are about to break any number of rules.

In the end, it eventually communicates an overall message of disrespect to the guest, who is presumably unable to behave as a mature adult in the absence of the signs (this is not a 'youth hostel' where a few signs would be somewhat appropriate).

Management seems to have endowed much of the front guest staff with this ethic (e.g. won't refill a 2 liter water bottle when they have 300 liters of 20 liter bottles at the ready) however, the housekeeping staff are a total exception and are absolutely friendly.

If my budget was a little bigger I'd pay for a more friendly place; if my budget were a little smaller I'd take it more in stride.

Room Tip: For fan rooms look to the northeast side where the sun doesn't wake you up in the morning nor ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeganMilitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

i booked a single room. it is actually small, but very clean. the whole GH is very clean. it is also cheap, as i payed 75000kip. Great location. Nice view from the 4th floor balcony.
and next door you'll find an excellent pizza at Aria's, which made me feel a little bit at home :-D

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

nice clean room, resonable price.

very very slow wifi - unusuable most of the time (i had to find fast wifi at any nearby restarants)

even more annoying is they turn the wifi off between 11pm - 9am. so if you want to check email / get some quick work done before heading out for the day its not possible... have to pack up laptop, go find a restaurantm, come back, drop off laptop and the go off - quite a pain and no logical reason behind this....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imagex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

a simple guesthouse like anywhere else,clean and has alot of no no.book a couple of night but the next morning there was a blackout for a few hours and they dont have any backup generator so you have to do things in the dark and the management seem nothing has happened.( make dont know)...aah while checkout i heard arguments between guest and staff about lost (less? i dont know ) towel in the room. so make sure before checkin room count every possible item if not you have tough time to explain for the lost or less item.so guys and gals enjoy!...there are few other guesthouses around so why not walkin to every house and ask a best possible rate and better place to sleep afterall vientiane is a sleepy city

Room Tip: for single get a dorm and couples get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tank_khoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

this is a nice place that come with many rules i would say.. yes with rules so that ppl will not spoilt it, i like it, its clean and its always FULLy booked, price is reasonable but u still can see even cheaper hostels within walking distance, if u dont mind pay a little bit extra i would definitely recommend this. U can see the sunset at the riverside and there's a night-flee market within walking distance. Variety of local foods also reachable nearby. One thing bad is that no re-fill water available, u have to pay for it. Bathroom/shower is clean and good too.

regards,
Malaysia backpacker

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannychc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Paradise a few times and even been turned away when they were full a couple of times.

The better rooms with bathroom are fine though no fridge. The single rooms without bathroom I found a bit too small for the price and just took one as nothing else available. The reviewer who had a room on the ground floor is right they are not good but you can generally get a better room the next night.

They experimented with a choice for breakfast but when I was last there it was back to fixed menu, usual egg and white plastic (paradise) bread and a bit of fruit.

It is central and is competetively priced but I would advise to pay a bit more for nearby hotels with tele and bigger room if they have space. Staff and fine but do not go out of their way - for example the internet wifi did not work for me and many others for 4 days in a row and they were not interested to do anything about it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bathroom at the front are best (but also slightly higher price).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyG998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#12 of 97 in Vientiane
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Guesthouse
Mixay Guesthouse
#82 of 97 in Vientiane
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
#59 of 97 in Vientiane
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#6 of 202 in Vientiane
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
0 mi away
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Souphaphone Guesthouse
#15 of 202 in Vientiane
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixay Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixay Paradise

Address: Th Francois Ngin, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: $16 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixay Paradise 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mixay Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixay Paradise Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing