We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a paradise”
Review of Mixay Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mixay Paradise
Ranked #10 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

a simple guesthouse like anywhere else,clean and has alot of no no.book a couple of night but the next morning there was a blackout for a few hours and they dont have any backup generator so you have to do things in the dark and the management seem nothing has happened.( make dont know)...aah while checkout i heard arguments between guest and staff about lost (less? i dont know ) towel in the room. so make sure before checkin room count every possible item if not you have tough time to explain for the lost or less item.so guys and gals enjoy!...there are few other guesthouses around so why not walkin to every house and ask a best possible rate and better place to sleep afterall vientiane is a sleepy city

Room Tip: for single get a dorm and couples get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tank_khoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 367 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

this is a nice place that come with many rules i would say.. yes with rules so that ppl will not spoilt it, i like it, its clean and its always FULLy booked, price is reasonable but u still can see even cheaper hostels within walking distance, if u dont mind pay a little bit extra i would definitely recommend this. U can see the sunset at the riverside and there's a night-flee market within walking distance. Variety of local foods also reachable nearby. One thing bad is that no re-fill water available, u have to pay for it. Bathroom/shower is clean and good too.

regards,
Malaysia backpacker

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannychc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Paradise a few times and even been turned away when they were full a couple of times.

The better rooms with bathroom are fine though no fridge. The single rooms without bathroom I found a bit too small for the price and just took one as nothing else available. The reviewer who had a room on the ground floor is right they are not good but you can generally get a better room the next night.

They experimented with a choice for breakfast but when I was last there it was back to fixed menu, usual egg and white plastic (paradise) bread and a bit of fruit.

It is central and is competetively priced but I would advise to pay a bit more for nearby hotels with tele and bigger room if they have space. Staff and fine but do not go out of their way - for example the internet wifi did not work for me and many others for 4 days in a row and they were not interested to do anything about it.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bathroom at the front are best (but also slightly higher price).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyG998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

First things first, the hotel isn't bad. It's very clean, the rooms are small but totally livable, and the shared bathrooms are also pretty clean. Also, the rate is pretty decent and the location is good.

You have to pay in advance, and they didn't want to show me the room, but I wasn't going to pay until I at least saw it. He reluctantly showed me the room.

The thing that got me is how rude and unhelpful the staff is. I paid and booked for a bus to Udon Thani, scheduled for a pickup at 7:30am. I had a flight out of Udon Thani to catch, and wanted to make sure that I was on the earliest bus out. I'm there by 7:15am. 7:30 comes around and there's no van, I go to the guy at the front desk and ask where it was, he said he called and it's coming. I ask this same question 3 more times until 8:00am when this specific staff member's shift is up, and he just leaves without any ownership of making sure that the van was coming. I speak to the new staff, and it turns out that the bus has already left. They offered me absolutely no solutions other than telling me that I could get on the 9:00am bus. I asked for a refund, as they completely screwed up, and I may miss my flight, but that was a no go.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Spent 3 nights here. Small but very clean room with comfortable bed and nice bathroom (hot shower). The location is great, short walking distance to the Mekong.
Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn´t try the restaurant so we can´t say anything about that.
Great value. We would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Mixay Paradise has an undeserved reputation among backpackers in Vientiane. There's nothing especially 'bad' about the hostel, but there's nothing remarkable about it either. There are cheaper alternatives literally steps away. The staff are polite and fairly helpful. The location is pretty good; it's located in the heart of the backpacker district. It's not a bad spot if you're in a pinch, but don't expect to be amazed by anything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We planned to stay here for a week after reading the reviews, but checked out after one night - it really was that bad. We were given the last available room, a tiny windowless box right next to the kitchens, with all the noise and smells such proximity suggests. Despite the miniature size, absence of storage space and awful location, the room was charged at the same rate as any other - which is relatively pricey for Laos. The meagre breakfast was mostly inedible, so it was just as well there was so little of it. Adding insult to injury were the innumerable notices everywhere warning of the hotel's fines for breaking their petty and sometimes bizarre  rules. Fines for having your own food and drink in your room, fines for drinking alcohol in the lounge, and my personal favourite - no laptops at the breakfast table. All that was missing were notices telling you not eat with your elbows on the table, or speak with food in your mouth. The internet curfew (wifi switched off from 11pm to 9am) does little to dispel the feeling that you have checked into a tiny obscure dictatorship rather than a hotel. And as for checking out, you're only allowed to leave once a member of staff has been to look at your room - presuambly searching for evidence that you've had forbidden food or drink there for an extra last-minute fine, as there's certainly nothing you'd want to take with you. One of the most unpleasant places we have stayed in the whole of Asia - and at $20, certainly the worst value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reserey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Mali Namphu Hotel
Mali Namphu Hotel
#12 of 97 in Vientiane
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixay Guesthouse
Mixay Guesthouse
#82 of 97 in Vientiane
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
Sengtawan Riverside Hotel
#60 of 97 in Vientiane
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#6 of 202 in Vientiane
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
0 mi away
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Souphaphone Guesthouse
#15 of 202 in Vientiane
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mixay Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mixay Paradise

Address: Th Francois Ngin, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: $15 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mixay Paradise 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mixay Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mixay Paradise Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing