We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
$17
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams$17
Agoda.com$17
Trip.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
93
165
73
30
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
93
165
73
30
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con double room decent breakfast tv egg backpackers temple
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 394 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Spent 3 nights here. Small but very clean room with comfortable bed and nice bathroom (hot shower). The location is great, short walking distance to the Mekong.
Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn´t try the restaurant so we can´t say anything about that.
Great value. We would definetly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Mixay Paradise has an undeserved reputation among backpackers in Vientiane. There's nothing especially 'bad' about the hostel, but there's nothing remarkable about it either. There are cheaper alternatives literally steps away. The staff are polite and fairly helpful. The location is pretty good; it's located in the heart of the backpacker district. It's not a bad spot if you're in a pinch, but don't expect to be amazed by anything.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We planned to stay here for a week after reading the reviews, but checked out after one night - it really was that bad. We were given the last available room, a tiny windowless box right next to the kitchens, with all the noise and smells such proximity suggests. Despite the miniature size, absence of storage space and awful location, the room was charged at the same rate as any other - which is relatively pricey for Laos. The meagre breakfast was mostly inedible, so it was just as well there was so little of it. Adding insult to injury were the innumerable notices everywhere warning of the hotel's fines for breaking their petty and sometimes bizarre  rules. Fines for having your own food and drink in your room, fines for drinking alcohol in the lounge, and my personal favourite - no laptops at the breakfast table. All that was missing were notices telling you not eat with your elbows on the table, or speak with food in your mouth. The internet curfew (wifi switched off from 11pm to 9am) does little to dispel the feeling that you have checked into a tiny obscure dictatorship rather than a hotel. And as for checking out, you're only allowed to leave once a member of staff has been to look at your room - presuambly searching for evidence that you've had forbidden food or drink there for an extra last-minute fine, as there's certainly nothing you'd want to take with you. One of the most unpleasant places we have stayed in the whole of Asia - and at $20, certainly the worst value.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reserey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

i stayed here in a single room with aircon in 2nd fl. The room is quite basic and small but very clean, the price is reasonable, I paid for 110,000 kip per night, the location is very good, really easy to be found and close to everywhere, the staff is very nice and helpfull.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank 3nd4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in 3 air-con en suite rooms for 2 nights. Rooms were small but clean. For USD18 per night with simple breakfast for 2, we had no complaints. Location is very good, about 400 meters from Mekong River and the night market. It is within walking distance to most places of interest in Vientiane. Rent a bicycle is a great option to explore this small town. There are many restaurants nearby with Aria - TA top rated Italian restaurant just a couple doors away. Hotel food was pretty good at a reasonable price. It was peak travel season, many guests who did not have a reservation were disappointed. Not only Mixay Paradise was fully booked, all hotels along the streets were packed. We saw and felt bad for many tired looking travelers being rejected here. If you are traveling between Dec to Feb, book your accommodations early to avoid disappointment. Really I was surprised to see so many tourists in a sleepy town like Vientiane.

Room tip: There are not many decent guest houses with this price range in Vientiane at least for now. Book early in order to reserve a room. No deposit require, just email and confirmation email will do.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arangemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews