We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amphone

Amphone
Ranked #78 of 392 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went to Amphone, because it is directly across from our hotel and it was pouring down. Even with the rain we were able to sit outside and enjoy the cool evening in pleasant surroundings.
The food was well made, and we liked most dishes we had. The citronella chicken was excellent and so was the duck in herbs. Some other dishes - a vegetable stew and pickled veggies - were not to our liking. That does not mean they were badly made or anything, it just means they were not made for our palate.
The staff is pleasant and tries to get everything right,
Only the prices were a bit to high for the quality offered. Therefore,4 out of 5.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tj-exploringtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    43
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful food with a real Isaan kick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Almost everything about Amphone was delightful. The service, the outdoor seating, the food (especially) and the wine. The staff were friendly and helpful and actually took me seriously when asked for 'proper Isaan spicy'. Oh my God! The spicy prawn salad was hot enough to stun an elephant - Just right :-)
As mentioned by others the steamed fish was a delight but, truth be told, all of the food was excellent.
Only downsides were the early-ish (10:30) closing time and the fact that I got mild food poisoning! But I'd go back again in a flash which says it all really. My partner said she wanted to marry the chef!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddiealfanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
357 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Very Good Laos Food in a Pleasant Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

After a bigger than usual lunch elsewhere we ventured here intent on grazing lightly.

We started with the citronella pork - minced pork wrapped in lemongrass and grilled - which came with a great spicy/salty lime sauce. We also ordered a delicious Luang Prabang fried river weed, which has to be the world's best beer accompaniment. If I could set up a stall selling this at the Melbourne Cricket Ground I'd make a fortune. The weed was strips like fine parchment, folded over, and within the folds sesame seeds and other nice stuff (garlic?). YUM!

By now the taste buds had been tickled, so we pushed on to explore the menu a little more, with a beef salad (pleasant, but the beef a little more on the chewy side than we'd like) and a Hor Mok, which wasn't like the Thai version of the dish as all, with pieces of fish cooked with fennel and coconut milk, not emulsified like they do it across the Mekong, served with fresh fennel fronds. Very tasty!

As the rain had kept away we say outside, which was nice apart for the odd argument between the local canine population in the Soi.

It wasn't the cheapest meal you can get in Vientiane but the quality and finesse in the cooking makes it very good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctrunfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went looking for this restaurant & stumbled over it by accident (would have helped if we had a map!) Thank you to the contributors on the forum for recommending it. It was a very quiet night & we were the only ones outside for most of the night. The stand out dishes were the citronella chicken & the lemon steamed fish. Seriously yummy! My husband ordered the Om Larb (I think that is what it was called) & he wasn't fussed on it. Nothing wrong with it, just not to his taste. Someone ordered the river weed, which was interesting & we are glad we ordered it, but probably wouldn't again. Lots & lots of other dishes & drinks for around 560,000 Kip (about $80 Aussie dollars - ok my calculations are not 100% accutate - but close to) It was a great night & the staff were really accomodating & lovely. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peegeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Food and Lovely Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A group of 8 of us had a delicious meal here- it was a lovely warm evening and we sat outside which was very atmospheric. Most of us have had the set menu in its various forms and all our food was beautifully cooked and presented and good sized portions. Staff were very attentative and efficient, when we chatted to them about the food they explained how various dishes were cooke and the various herbs and spices used in each dish. The restaurant was recommended in the Lonely Planet Guide and it was the best restaurant we had dinner in during a 3 night stay iin Vientiane.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphone also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Amphone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing