We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunned after all the good reviews”
Review of Amphone

Amphone
Ranked #74 of 408 Restaurants in Vientiane
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunned after all the good reviews”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This restaurant is very charming. What it has in cute looks certainly doesn't equate when it comes to the food. After reading all the positive reviews I was looking forward to a treat. Prices are very reasonable should you get what you ordered. The Lao sausage was tasty, the dry sun-cured beef was interesting; so I thought I was on my way to a fabulous main course. I chose the chicken with spicy papaya salad. What arrived in my plate next resembled pieces of half-burnt cardboard with a sliced cucumber. Completely disgusting and awful tasting. When I asked about the papaya salad I received a smile with the comment "no more". I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    45
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A little Lao culinary surprise off the main road!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Went for a quick lunch with work colleagues and enjoyed an enormous bowl of tasty Lao soup with noodles. No English menu at lunchtime so was abit of pot lukc but well worth it. Happy to recommend it to friends

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good Lao food and reasonable price”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Just had a dinner last night over there. Amphone is a nice decorated restauarnt with both western and Laos touch. They serve good Lao food, but don't expect it too much since Lao food is not so delicious anyway. Worth it a try. The price is quite reasonable. A meal for two without wine should be around US$15. The service is good as well.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CChanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I and my wife ran into this restaurant by chance. We didn't have any information about it. My wife found this one and wanted to try. So we went in.

The atmostphere was very nice, both inside and outside.
We sat inside and had Noodle Soup for lunch.

It was quite good.
And the price, only 15,000kip, made us very happy.
With this kind of interior design and ambience, we felt dine in much more expensive restaurant.

Overall, very good value.
The owner was very nice and very kind.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
694 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Glad We Dined Here”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Loved the ambience and the food was delicious!

Beer Lao and Riverweed to start,followed by Lao Sausage and Lap Pork. Too full for dessert. Could not ask for better service. Our bill was about $15 US.

Really sorry we did not return here our last night. We ended up at the Nam Phu Restaurant/Bar @ Nam Phu Fountain. DH really made a poor choice. Do NOT dine there....Amphone is the place!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank morewierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphone also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Amphone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing