We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel”
Review of Ansara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ansara Hotel
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I spent quite a few days at the Ansara and it is a very nice small hotel. It is situated on a small side street in just 1/2 block from the river and main tourist area. It was very quiet at night in terms of the surrounding neighborhood (although noise between rooms can be an issue). The rooms are nicely furnished (dark hardwood floors) and the suites are very nice. The breakfast buffet was quite nice and you could either have the buffet items set out or order eggs, omelet, etc. as you wish. They also made good strong coffee.

There were a few small issues that led me to knock off a point to 4 stars, but this is a great hotel so this is just some info for travellers and shouldn't stop you from considering this hotel. The aircon in the room often dripped water and once was almost a stream, I had internet connection issues several times and the housekeeping was very stingy with toiletries. Not once did they give me a new soap or other items used up even when it was obvious to replace. The breakfast is on an outdoor patio which can get quite buggy (mosquitoes).

The Lao staff are all generally friendly, albeit not overly helpful when asked questions. One of the front desk women speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almanorkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    180
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
47
248
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This year we went to Bangkok,Vientaine,Luang Prebang,Hanoi and Halong Bay and the Ansara was the best of all the hotels that we stayed in.Others failed because of little things, bathrooms, services and so on, but the Ansara came out top every time, we couldn't fault it. Staff were all superb, friendly and welcoming, food fantastic and the location was great, quiet but handy for town and the banks of the Mekong.
Thank you Ansara for making our stay so lovely.

Room Tip: Cannot single out any rooms because they all looked good, no problems with neighbours or road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel. The rooms very clean, comfortable and special amenities. No detail was overlooked. Staff was friendly and helpful on every level. Thank you for a great experience in your beautiful city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlykop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Location is top, restaurant is fantastic, and after several places tested in luang and vientane i must say this was my favorite one.Breakfast is the best i found, and this place won comparing to other award winning places as it has the best combination in regards to price, location, quality of room and food. Of course a pool would be nice.. But after testing hotels with pool i must say this is sthg you can skip, its not worth all other disadvantages you would find. Youngo to laos to feel and discover the place... Not to end up in a hoteldisneyplace without any charm.
If i come back to vientane, this is where i will stay.
Here, you can feel laos and vientane and just hanging around is cool. And at any time, just go round the corner and you would be in the middle of everything.
Hope to be back soon!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank tante_rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumonge, Burundi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is very clean, the staff is excellent, and the location is good. There are lots of unexpected little touches. The hotel has a very relaxing atmosphere and staff tries to assure that all guests enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff is very friendly, the pick up from the airport was nice and the driver made me welcome right away. My room was lovely, spacious and had a nice courtyard view. The breakfast setting is great and even just hanging out in the reception area was relaxing. They organized a driver for me to see the city and everything was just very simple. The location is good to walk around and get everywhere. Can definitely recomend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathrinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our initial impressions were good after a long hot journey by road from Vang Vien. our room wasn't ready but we were a bit early and it was pleasant sitting in the cool reception area. Our room was quite spacious,on the first floor,the air con was very good and the bathroom was large, though there was no mat in the bath so it was slippery when showering. Soft drinks ,,bottled water were complimentary, a nice touch. Service at breakfast needs improving. It was buffet style and we needed to get up several times and ask staff to replenish items which had run out .Not all the staff spoke very good English but were willing to find someone Who did we had a lot of trouble with the WiFi connection and ended up using the reception desk when we needed to check in for our flight out of Vientiane.
The hotel was very well situated for the night market and lots of restaurants.
There is a big restaurant next door that is well screened off from the hotel at the side but we were able to hear food preparations, washing up,dogs barking,
etc. from our room which backed onto a rather ramshackle block of building.
We tried sitting out in the garden but the furniture was ricketty, had no cushions and was covered in bird droppings. No one appeared to be checking on it and in
We gave up and went to sit in our room.
We felt it was more geared up for the business travellers we saw absorbed in their computers than people like us. It did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
262 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#9 of 93 in Vientiane
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansara Hotel

Property: Ansara Hotel
Address: Quai Fa Ngum, Ban Vat Chan, Hom 5 | Muang Chanthabury, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, opened in mid May 2010. 12 "Savvy" rooms, 1 "Suite Affair" of 46 sqm and 1 "Suitest Escape" of 64 sqm. All fares include in room laptop and free WIFI, soft drinks in mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Ansara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing