We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but lacking on service”
Review of Ansara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ansara Hotel
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable but lacking on service”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Good location. If you don't like stairs ask for ground level unit. Room comfortable, bed quite firm. Great to have complimentary snacks and soft drinks, but they didn't replenish unless asked and then took some doing. Breakfast very haphazard. Sometimes a menu, but great fresh coffee. Not good to have salmon and cold meats on the table without being refridgerated, not a safe choice to eat. Never ate at restaurant as prices very expensive.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolidayOz q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    178
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
47
247
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two times (3+1 night) in this realy charming hotel and we enjoyed every minute!
We had once a standard room and once one of the 2 suites. Standard room is very nice and well mantained. The suite just take your breath away ,,, you feel like home!

The entrance building is a very nice colonial house, located in a side street just behind a temple in the middle of the city center, everything is just a short walk away. The stuff is so friendly and helpful, even the garden boy payed you a smile when he saw you.

The breakfast was very good, not a big buffet as you will find in some really big hotel, but everything you need is there. Fresh made fruit juices, good cooked eggs on your order, good bread assortment and really (!!) good yoghurt (I know what a good yoghurt is, because I was working in this department)

On of the tops at Ansara was the French Restaurant. We eat there twice, one time we had the surprise menue and once we just eat a la carte. My wife and I are traveling a lot in France and we like the french cuisine and what we eat here was one of the best french cooked food ever. I had a really good piece of meat with a red wine risotto, this was definitely the best risotto I have ever had in my life.

We can hardly recommend this hotel!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cheese_int
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at the Ansara for two nights while in Vientiane at the end of my trip to Laos. I will start with the positives: it's in a very convenient location and the rooms are very contemporary and well equipped with wifi, a laptop, minibar, air conditioning. The hotel also looks very nice with a pretty courtyard between the main building and others. But the negatives: while it looks nice, it doesn't seem to be aging well. My tub leaked through the tiles, creating a puddle of water on the floor after I showered. And from the looks of it, this problem had attempted to be fixed before, although unsuccessfully. The shower curtain was moldy at the bottom. Also, service at breakfast was haphazard. One day I was waited on promptly and they took my order, the next day I had to flag someone down for a cup of coffee after sitting there for 10 minutes, and they never brought any silverware. I was also disappointed that they charged $15 for transfer from the airport. I have paid much less for a room where this was complimentary. I just think overall, for the price you pay the experience could be much better. I am sorry to say I think you can probably do better for less.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy19087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Four of us stayed two nights in separate rooms in this hotel in Vietiane, and while its location is great, the accomodations are very nice, spacious with a great atmosphere - we were challenged at times with the staff's responsiveness. What was alarming was the manager on duty appeared to ignore, or certainly not offer to resolve, an issue we had at the front desk checking out with a prepaid voucher and the related challenges. Restaurant service seemed somewhat slow, etc. Location was great - and hopefully your experience will be different than ours. Not terrible, but not up to the standards I would expect for a hotel ranked #3 in town!

Room Tip: We stayed in #2 on the first floor of the first building and enjoyed the spaciousness and shower of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob92110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

On the plus side; good location for the sights, but a bit built in.

On the downside; lacks character, building and rooms very motel like. No pool.Reception area very tired and not very welcoming (staff slightly indifferent too).

On the negative; restaurant for dinner very poor, food was terrible. Breakfasts are shambolic; the buffet is limited and infrequently stocked, food to order was cold, hard and overcooked.

Overall poor value - we had a very quick look at other hotels whilst sightseeing and found much better places to stay for not a lot more money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in room 8 first floor (glad to not be on ground floor and glad I did not have to walk up two flights of steps as it is so hot even in cool season - I am lazy!) however I did hear the people upstairs very early in the morning but I am used to it as I live in a flat in HK and I fell asleep again. Air-con drips a little bit but only on the floor in one little corner. These are small issues to me. No pool which is the major draw back but it has an excellent location in a quiet street just off the main road. Perfect location really. The staff are all really friendly. Breakfast is good in my opinion. it is really high quality but limited. I prefer high quality over quantity. so i was vey satisfied with breakfast. The bio yoghurts are top notch and the eggs are made to order. You can also order pho for breakfast if you want. They had marble cake for breakfast and some pastries and bread and a toaster. Their jucies are fabulous - fresh and there were about 6 types including kiwi and passionfruit. Tuk tuk rides to the major sights are Kip 30,000 (USD 3.75) or you can walk to the many retaurants nearby. The slippers are comfy but oddly you have to pay USD 6 to take them away which makes me think for a do they recycle them?' The sheets are clean and the bathroom was fine. The room is small but good enough. I also visited Green Park Boutique hotel today for a spa massage (USD 30) which was clean. The hotel looks slightly more impresive with the added bonus of having a pool but seems to lack soul and is quite far from town so you definitnely need a tuk tuk each time you want to go out (there is a free shuttle at every 15 past the hour to town and i saw free bicycles). I am glad I chose the Ansara. It seems good value at USD 130 per night. The mini bar is very limited but included as is breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilikecheesealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Ansara is situated near a temple in a small quite street and at the back of a colonial house with a small green courtyard.
Our room was smaller that the one shown during the reservation my husband made personally. The bathroom and shower were also small but well equipped.
The breakfast was nice with fruit and a choice of cheese and cold meats.
Unfortunately there were some reservation problems and for our last day they could only offer a “suite” that is more expensive than a beautiful room at the colonial Setha Palace Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.5 mi away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#9 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansara Hotel

Property: Ansara Hotel
Address: Quai Fa Ngum, Ban Vat Chan, Hom 5 | Muang Chanthabury, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, opened in mid May 2010. 12 "Savvy" rooms, 1 "Suite Affair" of 46 sqm and 1 "Suitest Escape" of 64 sqm. All fares include in room laptop and free WIFI, soft drinks in mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ansara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing