We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel”
Review of Ansara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ansara Hotel
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed two nights in this gracious small hotel. Lovely garden between rooms and dining and reception. Good location with many restaurants nearby and riverside night markets just two minutes away as well as the Temples. Quiet location in a small street. Staff friendly and helpful. Laptop computer that was provided was a bonus and no trouble with connection etc. French chef on site was very evident as the breakfast was good with lovely pastries and brioche. Had a light meal in the hotel's Signature Restaurant one evening when we were too tired to venture out. Delicious pancetta and roasted onion quiche with salad followed by the best creme brulee we'd had since visiting France. Enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenG724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 459 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked through Agoda one night on 6th October 2012. We end of staying two nights.

Check-in great!, French receptionist was nice and helpful.

Room's excellent. (snacks, soft drinks, tea and coffee of course all complimentary. Nice touch)

Breakfast: Good. Cold cuts, bread/butter, jams/honey, juices are on buffet. Therefore, all the hot items were a la cart :)

Dinner: Great! we were quite surprise with quality of the food served. Between four of us, we had a set menu, duck breast, chicken breast in red wine, sirloin steak. The cous cous salad on my set menu was a bit over-cooked, outside of that everything Great!!!!

We book a car to the monument and other place that was recommended by F.O for US$25.00. We were dropped at the monument for 30 minutes driver said. I said no come back here in 15 minutes because we on schedule to go for dinner at 7pm (we make the reservation through from desk also). Guy not shown up after an hour, try to call the driver as well as the hotel. We end of on tuck tuck (40,000kip) to get back. This is one let-down, so 4 stars instead of five!

Recommend? yes, I definitely come back for the next trip!

S.P: Beer Lao was cheap 15,000kip to compare with 10,000kip on street-side

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenmangohanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked through Agoda one night on 6th October 2012. We end of staying two nights.

Check-in great!, French receptionist was nice and helpful.

Room's excellent. (snacks, soft drinks, tea and coffee of course all complimentary. Nice touch)

Breakfast: Good. Cold cuts, bread/butter, jams/honey, juices are on buffet. Therefore, all the hot items were a la cart :)

Dinner: Great! we were quite surprise with quality of the food served. Between four of us, we had a set menu, duck breast, chicken breast in red wine, sirloin steak. The cous cous salad on my set menu was a bit over-cooked, outside of that everything Great!!!!

We book a car to the monument and other place that was recommended by F.O for US$25.00. We were dropped at the monument for 30 minutes driver said. I said no come back here in 15 minutes because we on schedule to go for dinner at 7pm (we make the reservation through from desk also). Guy not shown up after an hour, try to call the driver as well as the hotel. We end of on tuck tuck (40,000kip) to get back. This is one let-down, so 4 stars instead of five!

Recommend? yes, I definitely come back for the next trip!

S.P: Beer Lao was cheap 15,000kip to compare with 10,000kip on street-side

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewHomeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Ansara was our second choice; our first choice (Khamvongsa) was not available. Our room, #7, was in a corner overlooking the courtyard and therefore it was quiet. Our room was adequate in size and was furnished with a queen bed, desk, chair, low table, porcelain cups, a small electric kettle, complimentary minibar (soft drinks only), foil bags of roasted peanuts, laptop, safe, bathrobes and slippers. The internet connection was quirky; one had to 'fiddle' with the defaults or have the front desk send someone to do it, but once online it was fast and reliable. No problem with the password. The pretty but small bathroom had a shower only. Water pressure and temperature were adequate. The temperature fluctuated during the shower and at the sink; it stayed within the comfort zone in the shower - never too hot or too cold - but the fluctuations were much greater at the sink; if you elected to wash your hair in the sink (the faucet is high and allows this) you should set the mean temperature a little cool to avoid stinging your scalp. The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. On one morning we tried the breakfast that came with the stay (we limited ourselves to the buffet and declined the offered menus, also complimentary) and found the juices, fruit, milk, fish, cheese, cereal, and croissants to be satisfying. I thought the croissant had a flaky and crispy crust, which was very slightly diminished by staleness in the Vientiane humidity while the inside was light, flaky and very slightly buttery. Overall, I give it a B+. I think (without confirming) that the croissants were made by Le Banneton, and I much preferred to have my breakfast of espresso and croissant at Le Banneton, perhaps because the croissants might be fresher (grade A-, see separate review). I had the espresso twice at the Ansara. Normally I avoid any hotel lobby-located espresso machines and their attendant baristas like a plague, but they used a no nonsense La Pavoni HX espresso machine. Therefore, one day we were delayed from returning to our hotel room because the maids had not finished making up our room (subtle negative point), so we waited in the lobby and I ordered an espresso. The espresso had a thin crema and light body, but these were refreshing and suited to the hot environment (we had just returned from a walk even though the hotel lobby is A/C). The initial taste was mildly lemony but not acidic. Although the body was thin, it had enough chocolaty/roasty flavor to balance the lemony high note. The taste finished with a slight bitterness, also refreshing. The second taste was similar but the chocolate notes became more pronounced. The second cup of espresso that I ordered was to go with our breakfast. The taste had no initial high note, it was the chocolate-roast flavor but it had a nice finish of bitter orange. All-in-all, quite good espresso.
The Ansara is located in the Mixai (Mixay) neighborhood of Vientiane. This seems to be the expat enclave and so it is rife with bars, hotels, guest houses, bars, tour agencies, restaurants, worn-out alcoholic old westerners with their latest Lao girlfriend, motorbike rentals, and bars. It is a two minute walk from the Mekong River, where a large tourist market sets up nightly*. It is right next door to Wat Chan and down the street from Wat Ong Teu. The top twelve restaurants on TripAdvisor are within walking distance (except La Scala, which is near nowhere). Despite being in the center of things, our room was always quiet.
*General Opinion regarding Lao markets: Last century, imperialist countries purchased the affection of their colonials with cheap goods and trinkets. Now the former colonies seem to be getting their revenge. If you prefer to decorate your life with Proof of Travel furnishings, go for it.
General Opinion regarding Getting Around: You can rent a motorbike (despite what the travel sites say) for three times what a pair of bicycles go for and half of what you would pay in Luang Prabang. Paying rock bottom for a 'motosigh' comes with its own caveats: We had to swap our first rental because the rear tire became flat; our second rental did not have working turn signals. The fuel gauge on both bikes did not work; we improvised a dipstick from a piece of trash found on the street. We rode all day on 10,000 Kip worth of gas (about $US 1.25 in 2012). The humid breeze on a motosigh sure beats pedaling in the heat and it expands one's range tenfold. If you are determined to try authentic Lao food (are you sure about this?), your only choices are the 'evening arcade' market or to eat at any Lao restaurant outside of town, away from the tourist areas. Both of these choices require bike or motorbike, since they are beyond walking distance, except if you are staying at the Setha Palace Hotel or a handful of guest houses. See my rant regarding Lao food, if interested. It is appended to every one of my Vientiane restaurant reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satipatipatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I don't really have anything bad to say about this hotel. It was a nice hotel in a quiet street. Excellent location near the riverfront, markets, restaurants and easy walking distance to some great temples like the Wat Sis Saket, Har Phra Keaw. The hotel itself has a peaceful feel with a nice garden and a temple adjacent to it.

But all that aside, I feel the the hotel is significantly overpriced for what you get. The rooms were alright - nothing special, the breakfast very so so, service average. The location is great but its not like they have anything exclusive, plenty of hotels and guesthouses in the same neighborhood.

Now if this hotel was priced say in the $50-65 a night range, I would be raving about it, but at the $100 a night range, I was expecting so much more. I stayed there just for one night and would have been pretty disappointed if I had stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in August. The room was clean and the hotel staff are friendly. The breakfast selection was fantastic - especially loved the pho. The hotel is well located in the center and it is very close to the night market. This is a comfortable place to stay but it is one of the pricier options in Vientiane. The one thing that bothered us was that the WiFi password was changed daily and we spent quite some time fiddling before we called the front desk and were the told of the change.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just spent a few nights at this hotel, outstanding in every way, right down to the lap top computer in each guest room. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the service is warm, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was great, while the dinner we had in the restaurant was simply delicious. A great hotel and an enjoyable experience, would not stay anywhere else in Vientiane.

Tom and Sue Ultmann

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomuPhuket_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 93 in Vientiane
271 reviews
1.2 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansara Hotel

Address: Quai Fa Ngum, Ban Vat Chan, Hom 5 | Muang Chanthabury, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $133 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ansara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, opened in mid May 2010. 12 "Savvy" rooms, 1 "Suite Affair" of 46 sqm and 1 "Suitest Escape" of 64 sqm. All fares include in room laptop and free WIFI, soft drinks in mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ansara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing