We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for stay”

Saysouly Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saysouly Guest House
Ranked #113 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hotel looks big outside but when you get in room ,it was much diferent .Room was dirty,smell sheet,sometime you could see cracks running around.i asked manager about this . Manager said we would come and check but they did not come until i went to sleep . I could not sleep for whole night because of sound from insects
This is the worst place i have ever stayed
I left very early after one night

Room Tip: room on high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

After I moved in I did some reading and realized I might be under threat of bedbugs. Fortunately my room had no problem but there were lots of flies, cracks around the windows and doors, lots of ants in the bathroom, and a toilet that wouldn't completely flush unless a bucket of water was poured in! The overall state of the room was grubby with smudged walls with lots of bug-squash. The day I left I took a snap of a cleaner pouring hot/near boiling water over the mattress and bed frame of another room that had had bedbugs problems.
On the plus side the internet worked but slowly and the front desk person tried his best to be friendly despite the many problems he must have to deal with.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donbronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

+ very central location
+ cheap
o friendly but incompetent staff
- there were bedbugs in two of the rooms I stayed in. Management refused to take over the costs for the necessary hot wash of my clothes at a nearby laundrette
- the sink came off the wall while I was in one room; the same almost happened in the second room I stayed in. After some internal miscommunication between staff and management both problems could be fixed however.
- rooms are not particularly clean
- parquet floor is broken
- curtain rods are partly broken
- no batteries in the TV remote control
- no warm water availabe in one of the rooms I was shown
- WiFi is free but instable; also the repeater near my room was apparently under repair for a whole week

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This guesthouse is ok - looks nice until you really settle in and get to know everything that doesn't work. When we got here, we asked if there was wifi - they assured us there was wifi in the rooms. As soon as we paid and got into the room, we tried and it wouldn't work. Each time we had to remind them it wasn't working, they kept saying "tomorrow it will be fixed" and it never ended up getting fixed. There were SO many misquitoes in our room - I spend all night killing them, only to find new ones coming in. Couldn't seem to find where they were entering. The toilet wouldn't stop running so there was constantly trickling coming from the bathroom. The twos positive are that the bed was very comfortable and it's in a good area. Everytime we went to the front to ask a question or for help, we were always told to come back later when someone else would have the answer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights here in January 2014 in a private single room with shared bathroom. For 50'000kip per night I have no complaints whatsoever. A comfortable bed, enough bathroom facilities with hot water and a nice balcony area which to relax in making use of the free wifi. It's in a great location very close to the heart of the city but also pretty quiet. In a city where you can end up paying much more this is a perfect budget option.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in a twin room with bathroom (12,000kip per night). The room was large with TV, fridge and AC. As some have said the place is a little grubby and quite run down in parts but the beds were comfy and the sheets clean and we found no evidence of bed bugs. The bathroom was far from spotless and the basin was hanging off the wall but the hot shower worked well.

We found the staff friendly and they spoke sufficient English to get by, we didn't book any trips or tickets through them so can't say how helpful they would be on that front.

It's in a great location on a quiet side street but very close to the night market along the riverside, plenty of local and western restaurants nearby.

Would recommend it if you're looking for a decent sized room in a good location on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrispypancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Despite negative reviews on tripadvisor, we had presant experience. It's nothing special GH, but located very good location. They have nice open patio area on the gorund floor and the 2nd floor. The street they're facing is relatively quiet and there are many budget restaurants nearby. The restuarnt directly across from the hotel is very cheap. A Thai women who lived in Japan for 20 years run the place. She is a fun character. Be warned that beer/pop in the mini-fridge are not free. You must pay when you check-out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motohachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.4 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#15 of 97 in Vientiane
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
432 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vientiane
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saysouly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saysouly Guest House

Address: Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: $13 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing