We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Saysouly Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saysouly Guest House
Ranked #109 of 201 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights here in January 2014 in a private single room with shared bathroom. For 50'000kip per night I have no complaints whatsoever. A comfortable bed, enough bathroom facilities with hot water and a nice balcony area which to relax in making use of the free wifi. It's in a great location very close to the heart of the city but also pretty quiet. In a city where you can end up paying much more this is a perfect budget option.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 78 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in a twin room with bathroom (12,000kip per night). The room was large with TV, fridge and AC. As some have said the place is a little grubby and quite run down in parts but the beds were comfy and the sheets clean and we found no evidence of bed bugs. The bathroom was far from spotless and the basin was hanging off the wall but the hot shower worked well.

We found the staff friendly and they spoke sufficient English to get by, we didn't book any trips or tickets through them so can't say how helpful they would be on that front.

It's in a great location on a quiet side street but very close to the night market along the riverside, plenty of local and western restaurants nearby.

Would recommend it if you're looking for a decent sized room in a good location on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrispypancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Despite negative reviews on tripadvisor, we had presant experience. It's nothing special GH, but located very good location. They have nice open patio area on the gorund floor and the 2nd floor. The street they're facing is relatively quiet and there are many budget restaurants nearby. The restuarnt directly across from the hotel is very cheap. A Thai women who lived in Japan for 20 years run the place. She is a fun character. Be warned that beer/pop in the mini-fridge are not free. You must pay when you check-out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motohachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late into Vientiane and trawled the main streets in front of the fountain for a hour or so until finding saysouly. We were tired so settled for a nights trial. Only after we had paid (this is expected on check in) did we check trip advisor reviews which didn't look good! We decided to give saysouly the benefit of the doubt for a night. Our double room was huge, clean white floors and bedding. Walls a bit grubby. NO bedbugs in our room! It was noisy but big boat festival on so to be expected. Bathrooms were probably the let down, not clean, stocked on tp and smelly at times. Staff spoke very little English and couldn't help with travel arrangements but were friendly enough. Wifi slow, signal best in reception or at the great cheap restaurant across the road where we shared beerlao with the locals. Ended up staying 5 days in total. 80,000kip per night. We were happy.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We are backpackers on a budget so we will let some things go. However cleanliness will never be one of them! This place is dirty there are stains on the walls and on the sheets... we ended up there as we were very tired and everything else on this street was significantly more expensive and we didn't realise how bad it was before checking in. The next night we moved to mixtok inn on the next corner. Only a tiny bit more money and much better.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank h s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place is as bad as reviews suggest. This actually relates to March 2011, but things haven't gotten any better by the looks of it.

In my first night, I was taken to a dusty room, not so far off the kind of style that Leo di Caprio's character ends up in Bangkok in 'The Beach'.

There were bedbugs. I couldn't sleep, so I screwed my $4 and legged it to a place up the road, the Vayakorn inn (or guest house). Clean as a whistle, nice furniture/decor and service, $20 a bargain.

Anyway, I had the misfortune of staying here again as a quick fix because of a missed flight. See those red marks on the beds? That'll be due to bedbugs credit on past customers. They are wee red buffers as well because they are so full of fresh traveller blood.

So I done the exact same thing again and done a moonlight flit meanwhile the family were sleeping in a mesh tent downstairs. Oh well.

Do not stay here. They just do not care. Wi-fi is the least of your problems. They could even increase prices per night by up to two dollars and have some cleanliness. It's just pure laziness really that they haven't. Budget guesthouses in Thailand, and just down the road, put these people to shame.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Vientiane was really busy, so we only stayed here because it was one of the last places that had rooms available. It was clean enough and quite spacious. Staff wasn't all that helpful. Stayed mid-Jan 2013 in a double room with a fan, breakfast not included.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lana315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vientiane
0.0 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#33 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pathoum Phone Guesthouse
#103 of 155 in Luang Prabang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#10 of 201 in Vientiane
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mixok Guesthouse
Mixok Guesthouse
#49 of 201 in Vientiane
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lucky Backpackers Hostel Vientiane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saysouly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saysouly Guest House

Address: Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: $13 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing