We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Belgian Food”

Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar
Ranked #8 of 400 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Belgian Food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I passed this restaurant during my daily walking next to the river , I saw my Belgian Cartoonsfavorites and decided to have a loock on the menu :REAL BELGIAN FOOD , Finally founded in South East Asia : SO I decided to sit down on the terras outside , got impressed by the menuand more of the list of beers available at the bar . Tha prices are quiet high , but it is quiet normal , do not forget S.E.Asia taxes Import beer a lot , but the wide range of beerchoises is enormous , faboulous , Going from Belgian Trappist Westmalle , To A 6 different kind of White beers to an another lot of fruit beers like Kriek Lambiek , Geuze , ... Even in Belgium pubs would be extreem jalous on this collection and sellection of beers . But DO NOT FORGET ,IMPORT BEER COSTS MONEY , we protect here in South East Asia our products.Also the opportunity to order in French made it more easy for me , but the food selection was typical belgian :

*Ballekes in tomatensaus met Frietjes en Mayo
Meatballs in Tomato sauce and French Fries with Opportunitty of Mayonaise
Des Boules en viande hache avec sauce tomate et pommes de frites , avec Mayonaise

*Beef met met Saus (peper - Champignon of tartare) met Puree
Beef with the sauce (Pepper - Mushroom and tartare) with Smashed Potatoes
Du boeuf avec de sauce en poivre et Purree

*Gentse waterzooi (Typical Flemisch Product)

*Worst met Wortelpuree (of gewone Puree)
Saucisse avec du puree de carrot (Ou Puree Normale)
Saucisse with smashed Potato and Carrots

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanwelde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    150
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to hang out”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A nice place if you are looking to meet other Westerners/expats, hang out and chill with some beer and mini-food then this place is for you. However, if you are looking for a good meal in larg portions, then this place may not suit your needs. The place has a Western vibe which raises my expectations of being a true European bar. Sure, they do serve beer here – Lao and Belgian beer. But the food was just okay. The mini-burgers were good. They were small which is what we expected. However, all the other dishes were mini was well. The salad, although fresh, could have been served in a larger portion. The chicken was good, but the sausage was a bit bland. Nice friendly service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good if you like Belgian beer”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A fine selection of Belgian beers, with quite good food to match, esp the burgers. Not cheap, esp the beer, if you're used to paying 10,000 Kip for Beer Lao.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetblast25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best place to relax and have a beer”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good food, Belgian and Lao (My thai friends tried Belgian, I tried the Lao Food) but everything was washed away with Lachouffe beer which I thought was amazing to find so far from Belgium. Beers are expensive but this is because of the income tax on alcohol. Very nice interior design of the Belgian Cartoons (posters and wall painings, statues of TINTIN etc)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsianTravelGuru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMBelgium
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good selection of beers, local expat hangout”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great choice of Belgian beer to be found here. Also the mussels and fries on Friday and Saturday are very good!

Many foreigners to be found here - yet mostly expats I had the feeling who had made this their hangout place. So it's nice to talk to some of the locals about living in Vientiane.

Only downside is that the terrace is quite close to a busy street and the inside is quite stuffy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing