We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to relax and have a beer”

Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar
Ranked #8 of 400 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best place to relax and have a beer”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good food, Belgian and Lao (My thai friends tried Belgian, I tried the Lao Food) but everything was washed away with Lachouffe beer which I thought was amazing to find so far from Belgium. Beers are expensive but this is because of the income tax on alcohol. Very nice interior design of the Belgian Cartoons (posters and wall painings, statues of TINTIN etc)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsianTravelGuru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    150
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
EMBelgium
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good selection of beers, local expat hangout”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great choice of Belgian beer to be found here. Also the mussels and fries on Friday and Saturday are very good!

Many foreigners to be found here - yet mostly expats I had the feeling who had made this their hangout place. So it's nice to talk to some of the locals about living in Vientiane.

Only downside is that the terrace is quite close to a busy street and the inside is quite stuffy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No idea why this place is busy, avoid”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Usually it is a good sign if a restaurant is busy. Not so with this one. We had steak tartare and bangers and mash. The steak tartare itself was ok, the side dishes were absurd: chopped up raw garlic, mayonnaise out of a package, all in cheap horrible plastic cups. The sausages were dry and rock hard, I have never seen anything like it, the mash was made with cheap disgusting tasting margarine. The French fries -which should be the pride of a Belgian owner- were home made, but disgusting: greasy and floppy, I am pretty sure they were made of cheap potatoes and quickly deep fried just once. They were served ridiculously pretentious in a beer glass. We hardly touched our meals, and when the waitress came to get our plates no questions were asked at all... i guess they are used to taking away hardly touched meals. O yes, and the menu is very very complicated with an absurd number of dishes: no way a kitchen can prepare all this food well and fresh. The place is a belgian theme park, not a restaurant, and the owner obviously does not have a clue or simply does not care. Dont be fooled, dont go there. For these prices you can have much much better food in Vientiane.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Belgian buzz”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Received with a smile !
The owner is so welcoming which is always nice.
The food is OK, the "moules frites" sometimes a little dry but good overall and the "american"(raw meat) has never made anyone I know sick, bonus.
Good selection of beer.
It's a popular place with a great buzz, specially at weekends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkyoursole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The beer is very expensive here, but that's no wonder because they have to import it. But..the food is also a little expensive, it's really overrated, you can get much better food in town for half of the price. For example, I ordered a salad with goat cheese, which was over 5 euro's and I got a salad with 4 small pieces of bread and on those there was a little bit of goat cheese, so less that I couldn't even taste it and that for euro.

The service is oke.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing