We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful and dirty”

Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar
Ranked #6 of 392 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Pub, Central European, French, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Dirty tables , dirty forks dirty napkins and smokey atmosphere. Chicken was terrible sauce was slimy and greasy.

If your going just go for a beer and don't eat!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Truelao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    148
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you like your food laced with nicotine......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This place initially looked promising. I'm a Tin Tin fan and I like beer and good food but I prefer if it was not laced with nicotine. Customers and staff totally ignored the no smoking signs. I'm not usually a non smoking nazi, and maybe I was a bit intolerant because I was recovering from a bad cough, but enough was enough. I paid for the beer, cancelled my order and left to get some fresh air. No apology from the staff. Shame on you. If you want to be treated with respect and leave without smelling like an ash tray, don't come here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punxsutawney_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Super evening super food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Chokdee was recommended by a friend and we booked a table as it was Friday night! We weren't disappointed. An amazing array of Belgian beers, cold dry white wine and a kilo of mussels cooked to perfection. In fact there were 20 different sauces for the mussels listed.The owner Vincent was excellent from the 'phone call to make the reservation to checking we were enjoying the meal to the final farewell. Very helpful, friendly and attentive staff. Lively atmosphere with people thronging the streets alongside the River Mekong. It was a great expereince and we'll definitely be back! Keep it up Ckokdee!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Namtha, Laos
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location, Food, and Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was the most memorable meal I had in Laos! I had never tried Belgian food before, and now it's my favorite. The food was well worth the price. The service, atmosphere and beer selection were terrific too.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jw95521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PATTAYA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Really excellent kitchen and same great choice of beer than Brussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great food/value. Great's beer choice, same as weekend de la biere in Brussels first week of September. Very nice and friendly place in border of the Mekong river.
Staff really smiling

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanTONICPattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Chokdee Cafe & Belgian Beer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing