We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Family Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very comfortable!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

nice bathroom. nice air-condition. the best part is the super comfortable bed. feels like want to sleep all day long. near to fountain, near to night market, near to That Dam (Black Stupa), near to convenient store.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohd_yiyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
19
39
36
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My first time in Lao. Bit of a hassle getting there what with the visa and the number of transport legs I had to take getting there. So the warm welcome I received at Family Hotel made the journey worth it. Can't fault the hotel in every way but I must warn people getting a taxi from Friendship Bridge to Vientiane. They are thieving robbing crooks. Advertised fare is 300 Baht (the only good thing is they take Thai currency so no need to change money) Five minutes into the journey the driver tells me it is now 600 Baht to centre. I said "no you said 300" He said no 300 and get out now or 600 to centre. I stuck to my guns. He got really aggressive shouting at me to get out but I didn't. Ok I'm brave or stupid however you look at it but I'm concerned other people will be ripped off or kicked out in the middle of nowhere. Get a bus - they are frequent and stupidly cheap - I learnt later. Back to the hotel - comfortable, central, lovely decor, good breakfast and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsaul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It is located opposite of Lao Plaza Hotel and near Talat Sao(morning market) and South Bus Station for long distant bus to Thailand. Many small shops around but closed early. It is convenient for short visit travelers with budget expense. Rooms are clean but small in size and the shower and water heater are installed too high for guests. The quantity and choice of breakfast is limited and nominal.

Room Tip: Any room is similar, standardized with false window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a trip to Vientiane and wanted mid priced accommodation, the Family hotel was just right. The rooms are quite small, but the hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is really good. In this hotel only the front and back rooms have windows into the street, the middle rooms have a window facing the corridor, but we found this was less noisy. The hotel was quiet too but that may have been because we were there in the low season, but if you are on a budget it is comfortable and a nice step up from some of the lower priced backpacker places. It's right in the middle of town too with many eateries, coffee shops and the night markets around 15min walk away.

Room Tip: Perhaps higher floors would be quieter, but the hotel is next to a vacant lot which is quiet anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wattamillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,806 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 923 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good central location. Very clean rooms, with excellent bathrooms, micro-fridge, firm beds. Excellent complimentary breakfast choices (tuna salad doesn't seem like a natural breakfast choice, but give it a try..... delicious!). Nice lobby. Good free wifi. Super friendly and helpful staff (there was no working table in my room when I arrived and they moved one in at my request in less than 5 minutes). Modest price. For the money, this place is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nothing wrong with this hotel - good value for money (USD 26/night), centrally located, clean, quiet, free Wifi in the rooms, decent breakfast and friendly staff. Will definetly come back during my next business trip. Yes, some rooms do only have a window into the corridor, but who cares at that price and if you are only going to stay 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krummi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was first quite impressed by the lobby which is spacious, bright, modern, with 3 free speedy desktop computers and a pool of carps. Price is very good USD26 a night for standard single room booked via Agoda. This rate includes staff's smile and greetings (sorry to say that I rarely saw smiling and cheerful faces in Vientiane).

Room basic, clean, bed comfy, air con cool and quiet, TV channels plenty, toiletries sufficient, windows facing hallway. Did not ever hear any noise from outside.

There are several hotels/inns packed on the same street and therefore convenient store, food stalls and restaurants are not lacking in the area. Particularly, a food stall down the street (opposite to the Shiseido Shop) is good and its cripsy pork worths a try. Massage service is available at the "Nirvana Spa" next door. 1 hr Lao body massage is 90000kip only. Skills ok (but of course, don't compare with Thai).

Taxi is rare on the streets in Vientiane, yet, there are usually several taxis pending on the open ground next to this hotel. So going to airport is easy, agreed with the driver at 50000 kip (taxi arranged by this hotel however quotes 65000 kip).

Overall, this is a hotel of great value for money. But if you are seeking for some romantic or traditional Lao feeling, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.3 mi away
Phasouk Residence
Phasouk Residence
#31 of 93 in Vientiane
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#12 of 93 in Vientiane
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champa Garden Hotel
Champa Garden Hotel
#54 of 93 in Vientiane
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Boutique Hotel

Property: Family Boutique Hotel
Address: Pangkham Road | Chiengyuean Village, Vientiane 0100, Laos (Formerly Family Hotel)
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Family Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Family Boutique Hotel is located in downtown Vientiane, around a 10 minute drive from Wattay Airport and the bus station. With a 60 capacity restaurant offering Asian and European cuisine, the hotel also provides airport transportation and other services and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Family Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing