We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience. Menu looked great but the food truly disappointed.”

Aria Italian Culinary Arts
Ranked #21 of 392 Restaurants in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $105
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Italian Restaurant, imported Italian products, true STG neapolitan pizza, pasta, risotti, meat and fish. Italian Management, only at Aria Restaurant!! Come and try our new exclusive menu featured by our Italian Chef.
T_diddy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Bad experience. Menu looked great but the food truly disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were on the prowl for some good food and the menu looked hooked us; everything sounded great. We ordered two pizzas, gnocchi with gorgonzola, and goats cheese ricotta ravioli. A bread basket came to warm us up. Unfortunately, it also came with a horrible dip that neither of us liked at all. No balsamic or oils in sight. Annoyingly, as we left later, we saw another customer get the accompanying balsamics and oils.

My gnocchi was very nice and would eat it again. My partner's ravioli lacked in any real taste unfortunately.Our pizzas arrived - one margarita and one prosciutto & mushroom. There was no proscuitto ham, only cooked ham slices. The menu description listed roasted ham too, but the actual name of the pizza was prosciutto... where was it? The mushrooms were also just horrible. They weren't fresh, but instead, those horrible tinned mushrooms that should never see the light of day in a nice restaurant.

Both pizzas were overcooked on the underside too. Mine was so bad that large parts were actually inedible due to the burned taste. And I hate to leave a pizza. I told the waitress that it was very disappointing. She came back a few minutes later saying it definitely had prosciutto ham, and that the burned effect was actually the Italian way......... I laughed (and cried on the inside) as I got out the money to pay.

We didn't order any drinks and we still spent almost $40 - in Laos, on poorly cooked food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AriaCulinaryArts, Manager at Aria Italian Culinary Arts, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

PROSCIUTTO is the correct Italian word for HAM,
therefore there is 2 kinds of HAMs "cooked ham" that means Prosciutto Cotto and "Raw Ham" that means Prosciutto Crudo often called Parma Ham in English.

On the menu (you can see it on our website) it’s clearly specified in ENGLISH language that the
Pizza Prosciutto e Funghi
has
Tomato sauce, Mozzarella Cheese, "ROASTED COOKED HAM and straw mushrooms,
if you read it before placing your order, you will not be disappointed
Kindly check with Wikipedia or any online dictionary the translation of HAM in Italian language.
as well for the price of 5.8Euro for one pizza (as the menu price) even in Italy you will not find a pizza topped with Prosciutto Crudo/Parma Ham!

Mushrooms, I would love to fine nice tinned button mushrooms for our “prosciutto e funghi pizza”, however in Lao PDR there is none, only fresh Straw Mushrooms out of the market every day.

We do Apologize if we may have disappointed your concept of Italian food, indeed we are famous and keep receiving prizes and certificates of originality and culinary excellence

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    136
    34
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing homemade pasta and beautiful wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

You have to eat the homemade pasta here - it is amazing! The wine list is great and the staff are very nice and the service very good.
The pizzas are also very good but the pasta is something special especially the
bucatini with smoked pork cheek, onions and salted goat ricotta, parsley and rosemary. The best meal i had in Laos!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
“Excellent and authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went there by a recommendation of some US guys working in Vientiane and honestly I was a bit skeptical as a German which had been to Italy countless times (No offense ;)). As I had lunch there there was an all you can eat buffet with fresh salads, pizza and lasagna and a additional menu to order different types of pasta and sauces. Bottom line if got to say that the food was unexpected good and authentic and very close if not the same as real Italian food. (Still wondering how he had managed to get this taste knowing the difficulties of getting the right ingredients here.) Chef and owner is an Italian and I really appreciated the experience. Price at lunch was worth it but the dinner menu seemed to be a lot more pricey.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lime Sorbet was to divine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is an italian restaurant in South East Asia, the food was great, a different but I suspect due to the availability of some of the ingredients.

The chef & the maitre'd were fantastically helpful and constantly ensuring service was upheld. If anything was wrong, it was fixed. The chef even took our dessert order as he was wandering past and we were looking for a waiter - that's looking after your customer.

The lime sorbet, well I would go back just for that.

Plus free Wifi - is great in this online age to be able to upload photos!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Quality food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading the review in the Lonely Planet we had decided that Aria would finally give us something else than rice after weeks of travelling. Altough the restaurant from the outside looks pretty oke from the inside it is nothing unique and even too much light.

We choose the basics with Caprese and Pizza Margeritha. Even though this is the most basic Italian dish we were not impressed at all. The Caprese was oke but the Pizza was just terrible. The ingredients were good with great Mozzerela but the Pizza was not crispy at all in fact it was taken out of the oven way to early. The Cheese we choose as a dessert were not what we believe Italy has to offer (very very salt and not nice of taste).

Wines were oke and the service offered was good.

All in all a dissapointment and way to expensive for Lao standard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JeroenJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aria Italian Culinary Arts also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Aria Italian Culinary Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing