We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the rough”
Review of Phasouk Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phasouk Residence
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was a great time we had here at Laos and although it was just for a night, we truly enjoyed our stop. My friend and I backpacked through Southeast Asia and it was a marvelous experience being here. It embodied the Laos culture, and it was a really great time as there was a festival when we got there. The room was clean and smelled mostly of wood. The people were warm and the breakfast buffet was great. We had to go in the morning after breakfast and everybody were grateful that we stayed. There weren't really much to expect, but the basic needs of a traveler were met and everything that we needed -- a good night's rest, excellent accommodation, good food -- it was all worth the night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieGrA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Phasouk Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a good hotel for a budget trip with comfy beds and great location. We got to go around the neighborhood and the city and really explored that area. The rooms are pretty small, but so is the hotel. The furniture are very simple and natural with an all-wood ensemble. The staff were helpful when they are asked, The rooms are clean however, they're not so new anymore especially the tiles in the bathroom. The environment is nice and quiet, in spite of it being accessible to public transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abel0Walt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Vientiane is not the most exciting of cities, and many visitors find themselves there getting a thai visa. Myself included. This necessary evil is a pain in the butt so it is nice to find a comfortable, centrally located hotel with comfy beds, good shower pressure, close to most of the cities best restaurants and watering holes, with mostly attentive and helpful staff. The breakfast was standard but the rice porridge was yummy. Joma bakery, as well as a host of other breakfast options are close at hand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolacrumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The room was quite nice for the price around $45AUD. Decent shower with hot water and bathroom amenities. There are no lifts and being on the top floor did get a little tiring. The staff were friendly and Brekkie was ok with your choice of congee, fruit, salads, eggs and different breads. You could get ham and sausages cooked up when requested. Overall the value for money was good and we had no problems at all

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toflyorsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place is a pretty good deal if you are looking to upgrade from a dumpy guesthouse. It is clean and relatively well maintained, and has a pleasant vibe. The rooms are decent, with wifi, aircon, tv, and shampoo, toothbrushes, etc. The breakfast is decent enough, but there are a lot of great places to eat nearby, including good coffee shops and bakeries. It is close to the riverfront, but in a quiet location and you can't beat that!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's kind of a guesthouse style hotel. But everything worked - air con, WiFi. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is pretty basic - eggs and toast and fruit. But the location is the best. Joma Cafe is 30 seconds away. And right across the street is a great restaurant, Khop Chai Deu. Just down the street is another place called The Mix, and many others. It's also just a 5 minute walk down to the Mekong and a nice park.

I would definitely go with this location over all the riverside hotels. Besides having a view of the Mekong, there isn't anything else in that area besides other guesthouses/hotels.

My only real complaint is the flimsy doors to the room had no deadbolt lock. It was the old push the button lock. Didn't feel very secure at all when leaving the room. Also, the curtains were very thin and don't really block much sunlight at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivarising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms are basic but clean and have amenities like blow dryers and great air conditioning. Internet is VERY slow. Location is awesome as it is in the middle of all of the restaurants, coffee shops, bars, music clubs and a 5 minute walk to the waterfront. Service was good all the way around and breakfast is decent/basic eggs, toast, pancakes. Better coffee round the corner

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsfcmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#28 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#34 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#16 of 93 in Vientiane
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phasouk Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phasouk Residence

Address: No 57 / 4 Ban Xieng Gneun, Wat Xieng Gneun Rd, Vientiane 11635, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $31 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phasouk Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Phasouk Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing