We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a budget”
Review of Phasouk Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phasouk Residence
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a good hotel for a budget trip with comfy beds and great location. We got to go around the neighborhood and the city and really explored that area. The rooms are pretty small, but so is the hotel. The furniture are very simple and natural with an all-wood ensemble. The staff were helpful when they are asked, The rooms are clean however, they're not so new anymore especially the tiles in the bathroom. The environment is nice and quiet, in spite of it being accessible to public transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abel0Walt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Vientiane is not the most exciting of cities, and many visitors find themselves there getting a thai visa. Myself included. This necessary evil is a pain in the butt so it is nice to find a comfortable, centrally located hotel with comfy beds, good shower pressure, close to most of the cities best restaurants and watering holes, with mostly attentive and helpful staff. The breakfast was standard but the rice porridge was yummy. Joma bakery, as well as a host of other breakfast options are close at hand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolacrumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The room was quite nice for the price around $45AUD. Decent shower with hot water and bathroom amenities. There are no lifts and being on the top floor did get a little tiring. The staff were friendly and Brekkie was ok with your choice of congee, fruit, salads, eggs and different breads. You could get ham and sausages cooked up when requested. Overall the value for money was good and we had no problems at all

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toflyorsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place is a pretty good deal if you are looking to upgrade from a dumpy guesthouse. It is clean and relatively well maintained, and has a pleasant vibe. The rooms are decent, with wifi, aircon, tv, and shampoo, toothbrushes, etc. The breakfast is decent enough, but there are a lot of great places to eat nearby, including good coffee shops and bakeries. It is close to the riverfront, but in a quiet location and you can't beat that!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's kind of a guesthouse style hotel. But everything worked - air con, WiFi. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is pretty basic - eggs and toast and fruit. But the location is the best. Joma Cafe is 30 seconds away. And right across the street is a great restaurant, Khop Chai Deu. Just down the street is another place called The Mix, and many others. It's also just a 5 minute walk down to the Mekong and a nice park.

I would definitely go with this location over all the riverside hotels. Besides having a view of the Mekong, there isn't anything else in that area besides other guesthouses/hotels.

My only real complaint is the flimsy doors to the room had no deadbolt lock. It was the old push the button lock. Didn't feel very secure at all when leaving the room. Also, the curtains were very thin and don't really block much sunlight at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivarising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms are basic but clean and have amenities like blow dryers and great air conditioning. Internet is VERY slow. Location is awesome as it is in the middle of all of the restaurants, coffee shops, bars, music clubs and a 5 minute walk to the waterfront. Service was good all the way around and breakfast is decent/basic eggs, toast, pancakes. Better coffee round the corner

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsfcmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at this property for 3 nights. The location was its best attribute as its just a main road right around the corner from very good coffee cafes and restaurants. Also just a 5 minute walk to Nam Phu area where there are more great places. For some reason some of the tuk-tuk's didn't know the hotel by name, but just tell them Joma Cafe, the hotel is around the next corner, 3 minute walk. The road the property is on is not very well paved so in the rain watch for the mud puddles.

I had a budget room and the first room (#15) on the second floor and the room itself was nice but a very small bathroom but main thing was no hot water. The next room (#34) on the 4th floor was much better, bigger and much bigger bathroom with very good hot water. However, there is no elevator. Walking up didn't bother me too much but I did wish they had one. Both rooms/bathrooms were very clean and bed comfortable with good a/c. TV was good also with many English channels and many Thai channels also. Wifi was fast and working and there is a pc in reception. Staff was reserved but friendly. I would stay here again only for the location and very reasonable cost. My rate did not include breakfast so I can not comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank songoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#28 of 93 in Vientiane
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.1 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#37 of 93 in Vientiane
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
Best Western Vientiane Hotel
#16 of 93 in Vientiane
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phasouk Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phasouk Residence

Address: No 57 / 4 Ban Xieng Gneun, Wat Xieng Gneun Rd, Vientiane 11635, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $32 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phasouk Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Phasouk Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing