We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of personality but there are rough edges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inter City Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We've stayed here several times. The large lobby and the corridors are packed with interesting Asian artifacts. The rooms that we've stay in, all in the front, are spacious , and if you're on the third or fourth floor you'll have a view of the Mekong River. We like having the view but some may be bothered by the noise from the night market and the aerobics classes on the waterfront at dusk. Also, people staying in rooms on the east side of the hotel will have to deal with the loud music from the night club next door, although they seem to wind down by 2330. The bathrooms are seriously in need of updating.

Breakfast is nothing to write home about but they do cook eggs to order. The staff is mostly friendly and helpful.

This is really just a three star hotel, possibly only a two and a half, but I'll give it 4 stars for value, location, and personality.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 263 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a prime location on the Mekong river and the night markets set up right outside... The room was old but everything we needed, a big bed and a hot shower. It was clean and the sheets were changed and new towels by the time we got home on the second night. The staff were friendly and the receptionist spoke English well. The free breakfast was also great, they have a chef making omelettes and eggs to order. They also give you free water bottles and new ones after they clean.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank livschweik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We thought we would try a different type of hotel for our stay in Vientiane. Our expectations weren't very high! The hotel was an interesting mish-mash of furniture and ornaments. Lots of interesting examples of DIY. Despite being a bit worn the rooms were all very clean and room. Some rooms don't have windows - we had a river view and city view. Excellent location for the night market and eating. Locals exercise on the river banks morning and night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel was clean, great location. The rooms are large but very basic. The bathroom was very basic with interesting electrical wiring inside the shower area. Staff are pleasant. It's good for the location but I wouldn't stay there too long.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor rooms as per pics
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Old building,with a lot of antiques and traditional art everywhere .The combination has something special even this hotel had seen better days....
The place to be is with river view.....rooms....
The A/C works only inside of the rooms , not hallways and stairs but is more than enough...
We booked the upstairs room with river view on the front and corner like is showing the picture on their website....but.... the supposed corner river view has a building..instead and when I complained they said is an old picture ...and I see is still on the website....never had been removed or replaced. Anyway ,the room is still nice, huge with the front river view and old antique feeling.The bathroom , good but not more than that ,It can be better, shower so uncomfortable, prepare to be seated to have one.
Breakfast can be better...
We had one day without electricity(9 to 5) because of city repair.. we had been advise the day before, didn't affect us because we were on a day tour but the hotel should had charge half day..only ,I can imaging how hard was for people staying during the whole day .
The view is amazing, it value stay in this hotel for that view and traditional style.
Don't miss the night market at nighttime and especially see or share the great aerobic classes full of local people and some tourists .GREAT ENERGY...
There is an Italian restaurant few blocks form the hotel, really good food..

Room Tip: Top river view room, be prepared the view is only on the front but anyway it values to get this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaNepomnaschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

While this hotel is older and it shows, everything in the room functions and is available, wifi in room is scratchy but in lobby is fine. I found the breakfast fine, eggs cooked to order and a few choices from a small buffet. Staff was very friendly and helpful, location is great with the river and Night Market across the road. Good rooftop bar/resto next door. But my favorite was the Chok Dee Belgian Beer Bar, follow the waterfront towards the Pres. Palace and you'll see it, friendly Belgian owner (Vincent), good food and cold Beer Lao.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25Marc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

this hotel is terrible. The staff are Extremely rude and unfriendly. The power went out for a full day (the staff dont bother to let you know whats happening) and the room turns into a sweat box with only the lights working (no tv,no fridge,no air con,no lift). Its next to a construction site so it was terrible to wake up very early to drilling and hammering, and the room was unclean and filled with bugs who spent the night in bed with us. The towels felt like sandpaper and also looked stained, the hotel is boring and depressing and we wish we stayed elsewhere. The hot water runs out after 5 minutes, and we asked for a wakeup call so we could get to the airport (no alarm clock or electricity) and they called an hour late, which is unforgiveable! We hated our stay at this hotel, even though we dont spend much time in the room while we are on holidays then this hotel was so bad that 5 minutes feels like an eternity of hell. Better hotels down the road.

Room Tip: stay at a different hotel if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r6chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Memory Hotel
Memory Hotel
#40 of 93 in Vientiane
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#46 of 93 in Vientiane
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Douang Deuane Hotel
Douang Deuane Hotel
#35 of 93 in Vientiane
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#52 of 93 in Vientiane
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter City Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter City Boutique Hotel

Address: 24-25 Fa-Ngum Road | Ban Wat Chan, Chanthabuly district, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $41 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inter City Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Inter City Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing