We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, clean and very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, clean and very good value”
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed at Souphaphone Guesthouse for one night and were very happy with it. The location is good, very central, but it is still quiet. We took a room without breakfast, because the breakfast did not look good at all, but since there is a coffee house right around the corner, it was no problem at all.

The rooms are quite big, the bathroom has a shower with shower curtain (a lot of rooms in Laos do not have that, so you soak the entire bathroom when showering). Everything is very clean, so in our opinion it was great value!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stimela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    71
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
75
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Myself and my husband stayed here for just one night before we flew out of Vientiane to Vietnam.

This hotel ticked the boxes really. Nothing outstanding, but was just what we needed.

Cleanliness - a VERY clean hotel

Rooms - big and airy, lots of space. TV with lots of english speaking channels. Fridge. Wardrobe with lockable drawers. Big double bed with bedside tables and nice shiny wooden floors. Our rooms view was of a wall opposite.. so suppose that's the only downside.

Sleep quality - very quiet, easy to drop off.

Location - 2 streets away from the restaurants and a couple of streets away from the main fountain etc.

Staff - were helpful enough, not rude, not overly helpful.

A good choice for Vientiane and had internet in the room too. V.handy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The guesthouse is located just few hundred meters from the Mekong, in the heart of the hotel and restaurant district targeting foreign tourists. Quite modest standard, but the rooms, look relatively new and clean. No safe in the room, and staff speaks very limited English. As far as I could tell, there are no food service available, but there are plenty of cafes and restaurants in the neigbourhood. For 20$ per night with free wifi included, you get decent value. Please note that the front door closes at midnight, so if you do plan to visit one of the few clubs that are open late, you might want to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2010

very clean large rooms air tv hot water fridge cleaned daily great place to stay highly recommend looking here
close to everything

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj777au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We spent a week here and loved it. Our room was huge! Immaculately clean (cleaned every day) and with a fridge, air-con, cable TV, 2 free bottles of water. Bathroom was fine, though not that modern.

Our airport pick-up was fine. The staff as the hotel were professional and courteous without being too over-the-top friendly. I prefer the hands-off approach and they were very helpful when we approached with queries.

Location is perfect, near the riverfront and many restaurants and bars. Food was almost always fantastic, some of the best on our trip so far. Try Laap! Vientiane itself is a wonderful place and we really enjoyed wandering around and soaking up a very unique Asian city. There was a lot of building work on the riverfront so I am sure Vientiane will become much more touristy in the near future but we had such a relaxing and enjoyable time there.

If you get the chance to visit the COPE centre, a rehabilitation facility for people injured by UXO we would really recommend it.

A big thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here in July 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The double room was very large, good bathroom, and excellent breakfast included. The location was also good - would recommend to others on a 'medium' budget ($20-$25US/night).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We paid $20 a night for a room which included a fridge, cable TV, air-con, 2 free bottles of water every day, free wi-fi. This didn't include breakfast, but there are a big choice of restaurants and cafes in the adjoining streets. The room was absolutely spotless and had daily housecleaning. I couldn't fault this place at all. The bed was very comfortable (not too hard), the room was huge, the hotel was in a central location but still quiet. There are 4 Wats (temples) within a block. With the wide range of choices for a guesthouse in Vientiane I don't think you could find a better option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trutraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.8 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
93 reviews
2.3 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#18 of 93 in Vientiane
497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#5 of 197 in Vientiane
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#2 of 197 in Vientiane
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souphaphone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souphaphone Guesthouse

Property: Souphaphone Guesthouse
Address: 145, Ban Wat Chan | Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Souphaphone Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing