We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good surprise”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We really ended up here by chance, looking for a comfortable room where we coukd find some rest, after a long journey.
The staff wasn't so talkative but the room was clean and spacious, good bathroom with hot water and there was a safety box as well.
Quite quiet also - we spent a really good night there.
It may not the be the cheapest option (170,000kips for the double) but definitely not the most expensive in Vientiane.
They also arrange for you a pick up for the airport by taxi for 65,000 kips , which is a bit expensive I guess.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank diofisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    71
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
75
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for two nights good size room very clean, quiet and well located to everything only one thing that needed some attention and that was the air con. Each time I would switch it on black soot would come out, the unit is in need of a good clean or maybe replaced. I think the room I stayed in was number 306. Would stay there again on my next visa run.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabaideeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel worked out great for us (myself and two buddies). We found it by recommendation from another Westerner who was at a local expat hangout restaurant. (We just sort of showed up in Vientiane and started walking around the river area where all the tourists area) The property is hidden around a corner and seems fairly new. The rooms are nice sized, modern and clean. Wifi is in the lobby, but you can get the signal on the second floor. We did not take the breakfast option as that is $5 more and there are restaurants all over and some within crawling distance. Our room price was $22USD and well worth it and a great value in our option. Water pressure was good, water heaters worked great, wifi was fine. Overall a very good property.

The location is spot-on. You can walk all over the river front area and rent motorbikes just up the street for touring. Traffic in Vientiane is not that heavy and is civil. 2 nights in Vientiane is plenty.

The staff (as indicated in other posts) is not bubbly and friendly but they are not rude either. They are just kind of "there!" Not really helpful, chatty or welcoming. They just do their job. We tried joking around a bit. We did manage a little smile from the young women that worked there.

I would stay here again if visiting Vientiane and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good clean, newer hotel and they are on a budget.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms close to the lobby received the wifi router signal well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived with no where to stay and after walking round in the heat with huge backpacks we came across this place and agreed the 170,000 price for a double room per night. In hindsight this is expensive and if we could of been bothered we probably could of found somewhere else for a lot cheaper. Apart from the fact there's no wifi in the rooms, there's nothing particularly bad about this place. The rooms were nice, big and very clean. It's more of a hotel for people on holiday rather than a place for backpackers. Most other places we have stayed we have been given a map and told recommendations etc but we had no dealings with the staff on reception at all, it's not that they weren't nice people, they just didn't speak and didnt want to have conversation other than checking in and checking out. Personally, Vientiane isn't a fantastic place compared with other places we have been in laos. There's just not a great deal to do so I would recommend 1 or 2 nights max. I must mentions little restaurant round the corner, it was nothing special to look at but the food was amazing and so so cheap, we ate there twice a day!! It has no name but of you come out the hotel and turn right then right again about 20m down the street the menus have 10,000 kip written on the front and it's a woman and her teenage daughter who make the food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

returning back for one night to Vientiane we really didn't want to break the budget. This guesthouse is a great find. The rooms are big the bathroom clean and free water and air con cannot be bad for the price you are paying. Yes the view of the wall isn't great but at this price we drew the curtains!! We were told free wi fi was only available in reception but we picked it up with no problem from the second floor...our room was near the front directly above the modem/router.
Staff ok for our needs and would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: For free wifi choose a room on 2nd floor near the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mibial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good location, good price, clean premises. Don't bother with the breakfast, and the wi-fi is a bit scrappy from the rooms. Our hotel receptionist was quite helpful, albeit on request. Other than that, perfect.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doalittledance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampot, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

There's little wrong with this hotel when considering the basics: rooms are clean and spacious, it's quiet, centrally located and beds are good. It's just that, at 170.000 kip for a double, there's nothing particularly special about it. Service is lackluster, the lobby is boring and most rooms look out on a wall. The thing is, there are many other run-of-the-mill hotels, just around the corner, that are at least 50.000 kip cheaper than the Souphaphone Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors might have a view (eg, not a wall), but there's no lift, so be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrytin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.8 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 93 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#5 of 197 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#2 of 197 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lani's House By The Ponds
Lani's House By The Ponds
#6 of 197 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mixay Paradise
Mixay Paradise
#11 of 197 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souphaphone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souphaphone Guesthouse

Property: Souphaphone Guesthouse
Address: 145, Ban Wat Chan | Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Souphaphone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Souphaphone Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing