We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sinnakhone Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Vayakorn Inn(Vientiane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ansara Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mixay Guesthouse(Vientiane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dhavara Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VKS Hotel(Vientiane)
View Hotel
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
52
73
22
4
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
73
22
4
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are bigguest housegood sizenight marketmekong rivertvwifireceptionistpillowseateries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 165 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I arrived at midnight and was put into an acceptable room(the last one available). The next day I was moved into a far superior room with view (without asking for it) and stayed for 4 days. Friendly staff, meeting all your needs and good value for money in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed one night here, as the guesthouse we wanted was booked out and they recommended the Souphaphone. Although we were told on booking that the room had no windows, we found it hugely claustrophobic and moved on the next morning to a guesthouse with lots of windows at a fraction of the cost. As mentioned by others, 4 flights of stairs with no lift is not fun, especially in the heat of Vientiane in summer & with no offer to assist with our luggage. Staff were quite friendly and breakfast reasonable. Okay for the price but probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Can't really fault souphaphone. Great location, quiet, very clean, reasonable bathroom, good comfy bed, TV and fridge for 170,000kip a night. Large room and polite staff.

If it had a kettle/tea/coffee in the room, and you could pay at the end or on card then it'd be 5/5 and excellent. Paying cash in advance is a very poor idea as we paid daily not knowing how long we'd stay.

Room is bright and well lit, though we didn;'t have a view (bar a concrete wall). Not an issue as lights are superb and we never look out of the window as we're out and about.

We'd recommend, and whilst not the cheapest, it is smart and the rooms are good.

Room Tip: Rooms 204-210 will be in range of "lobby only wifi" :)
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanAndMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I enjoyed my time in Vientiene. This guesthouse was conveniently located, the room though plain was very clean and well maintained. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. Though wifi offered as available in the lobby only it did work fine in our second floor room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Having read some reviews I wasn't expecting an amazing stay at Souphaphone, but was pleasantly surprised. The front desk crew were fairly helpful and very polite. Their English was limited, but the main receptionist tried really hard to answer our questions and point us in the right direction.

Rooms are big and very clean and come with complimentary bottles of water daily. We had a room with a window, but I don't see the complaints about lack of windows being a big deal. Because of the room's large size, a windowless room would not be the end of the world.

The free WiFi actually worked in our room on the 4th floor despite being told it would only work in the lobby. There is no elevator, so stay low if you don't want the exercise. Also, watch your head on the stairs, it's a low ceiling!

Location is also perfect for walking around Vientiane. Quite a few restaurants and cafes nearby.

Room Tip: No elevator, so stay low. Try the WiFi in your room, ours worked well.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baleener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews