We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Souphaphone Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good value for money hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I arrived at midnight and was put into an acceptable room(the last one available). The next day I was moved into a far superior room with view (without asking for it) and stayed for 4 days. Friendly staff, meeting all your needs and good value for money in Vientiane.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    71
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
75
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed one night here, as the guesthouse we wanted was booked out and they recommended the Souphaphone. Although we were told on booking that the room had no windows, we found it hugely claustrophobic and moved on the next morning to a guesthouse with lots of windows at a fraction of the cost. As mentioned by others, 4 flights of stairs with no lift is not fun, especially in the heat of Vientiane in summer & with no offer to assist with our luggage. Staff were quite friendly and breakfast reasonable. Okay for the price but probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Can't really fault souphaphone. Great location, quiet, very clean, reasonable bathroom, good comfy bed, TV and fridge for 170,000kip a night. Large room and polite staff.

If it had a kettle/tea/coffee in the room, and you could pay at the end or on card then it'd be 5/5 and excellent. Paying cash in advance is a very poor idea as we paid daily not knowing how long we'd stay.

Room is bright and well lit, though we didn;'t have a view (bar a concrete wall). Not an issue as lights are superb and we never look out of the window as we're out and about.

We'd recommend, and whilst not the cheapest, it is smart and the rooms are good.

Room Tip: Rooms 204-210 will be in range of "lobby only wifi" :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanAndMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I enjoyed my time in Vientiene. This guesthouse was conveniently located, the room though plain was very clean and well maintained. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. Though wifi offered as available in the lobby only it did work fine in our second floor room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Having read some reviews I wasn't expecting an amazing stay at Souphaphone, but was pleasantly surprised. The front desk crew were fairly helpful and very polite. Their English was limited, but the main receptionist tried really hard to answer our questions and point us in the right direction.

Rooms are big and very clean and come with complimentary bottles of water daily. We had a room with a window, but I don't see the complaints about lack of windows being a big deal. Because of the room's large size, a windowless room would not be the end of the world.

The free WiFi actually worked in our room on the 4th floor despite being told it would only work in the lobby. There is no elevator, so stay low if you don't want the exercise. Also, watch your head on the stairs, it's a low ceiling!

Location is also perfect for walking around Vientiane. Quite a few restaurants and cafes nearby.

Room Tip: No elevator, so stay low. Try the WiFi in your room, ours worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baleener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice place to stay, but for 170,000 kip (which they would not discount for a single person) it was the most expensive place I've stayed at in Laos, so maybe my expectations were unfair. - especially as some reviews are claiming this as a 5 star hotel?

No street noise, and NO ROOSTERS. This might sound like a silly comment, but after 2 weeks in Laos, believe me, the "rooster factor" is one of the most important aspects of a guesthouse. However, the internal noise at the hotel (other guests) is fairly noticeable, even through my room was on the 4th floor. But it is hardly a backpackers, so you should sleep well :). Beds are the fairly hard S/E asian kind (how they hate a soft mattress!)

Staff are friendly, and speak pretty good English.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

There is probably better value out there but this is still a good option. Very clean, bottles of water each day, fresh towels, and welcoming smiles made us stay rather than moving to something a bit cheaper. No breakfast but with the French patisseries near by ( le benetton is fantastic) it is a plus. No windows on many rooms but they are big.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joleema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.8 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Palace Hotel
Riverside Palace Hotel
#24 of 94 in Vientiane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#20 of 94 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vientiane Star Hotel
Vientiane Star Hotel
#5 of 197 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#2 of 197 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lani's House By The Ponds
Lani's House By The Ponds
#6 of 197 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souphaphone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souphaphone Guesthouse

Property: Souphaphone Guesthouse
Address: 145, Ban Wat Chan | Chanthabouly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Souphaphone Guesthouse Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing