We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy, well located hotel at great price”
Review of Sabaidee@Lao Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sabaidee@Lao Hotel
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We found this when other hotel for conference was full. This is right across the small street, clean, quiet comfortable, great price. Across from shopping street to Fountain where some of the better western restaurant and cafes are. Another block to Mekong river.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuForia_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 211 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

We were transiting through Vientiane for a couple of days after visiting Luang Prabang and were after something central, clean and affordable. This place fitted the bill perfectly. There are no bells or whistles but we never expected any. We were pleasantly surprised by the free internet terminals in the lobby. It is a few minutes walk to the city's main attractions, including the morning market, bus station, central fountain and Pantu Xay. Walk out the doors, turn right for 200m (past Seethas), turn left at the T-intersection and you'll stumble upon a popular night food market, serving up excellent Laos street food. It was the highlight of our stay. The barbequed pork and spicy green papaya salad were standouts.

Be warned that if you intend checking in after 6pm, you should contact the hotel and let them know. If not, they'll assume you're not coming and rescind your booking. This almost happened to us (we booked on agoda). Luckily there was one room left, but a Filipina lady who walked in minutes behind us wasn't so fortunate.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunarboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The hotel is located very close to good restaurants and any facilities you need whilst in Vientiane. Our room was a good size, clean, very light and the bathroom had an amazing shower which was lovely. Everything in the hotel looks new, clean and well done....the only thing I'd say it lacked was a bit of character but for 2 nights this didn't really matter. The breakfast was very disappointing though and there was very little choice. I would recommend this for a short stay as it's convenient, the staff are helpful and the room's perfect to relax in for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

New modern hotel, well situated in the center of Vientiane, near the streets with the best shops and restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms are small but are expected within a 3 star hotel. Breakfast is very poor and very little choice of food. When we made the reservation we asked for the transfer service from airport to hotel. Upon arrival in Vientiane there was nobody waiting for us. The hotel had forgotten. However, the problem was easily solved because the airport has a system of pre-payment of taxi service, so we got to the hotel without any difficulty. Face the hotel’s modernity, its location and the very spacious rooms, I think the Sabaidee Lao Hotel an excellent choice for those who wishing to stay in a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonio100161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Great hotel. Clean, new, spacious, nice bathroom, good and very friendly staff. The property is within walking distance of everything. Just down the road from the Settha Palace Hotel, so if thinking of staying there, this one is near, cheaper and allows you to stop at the Settha for dinner or a drink. Great hotel for a weekend tour of Vientiane. Hotel can also help you arrange a day tour of the city - though a bit pricey for Loa standards. I paid $85. But if are flying in on a Friday night and leaving Sunday afternoon, cannot be beat. Plus, they even threw in an extra hotel transfer for free.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This hotel is in a great location for seeing the few tourist sites within Vientiane. Clean modern and western in construction, with the Asian touches throughout, it is an easy walk to the tourist area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed at Sabaidee@Lao for 2 weeks in July 2010, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for decent and comfortable accommodations in Vientiane. The hotel sits across the road from Lao Plaza Hotel so the location is ideal. You are close to all the eating places and shops but not smack in the middle of the traffic and noise (as is Chao Anou – the local chinatown). The eateries at Nam Phou vicinity and Chao Anou vicinity are all within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. The walk is safe, even at night, for a single female traveler.

The hotel offers free wireless access both in the lobby and the room. There are also 5 PCs in the lobby for the guests. Network access was good and fast throughout my stay. I stayed in a classic room. It is more expensive but the extra space was worth it. The room comes with a king-sized bed, a day bed, 2 chairs + 1 coffee table, and a wardrobe. There is also a mini-fridge, coffee-making facilities, hairdryer, a safe, a wide-screen TV with 52 channels (CNN, BBC, CAN, HBO, AXN, etc). The bathroom is very spacious. I always travel with some extra hangers, which came in handy as there were only 5 in the wardrobe. 2 bottles of mineral (FOC) everyday. If you get a room facing inwards over the central courtyard, it is very peaceful. The housekeeping staff kept the room clean throughout my stay. Breakfast is rather limited but sufficient – usually a fried rice, fried noodle, vegetables, porridge, sausages, ham, fries, bacon, eggs (sunny side and scrambled), baguette and 2 kinds of cut fruits, coffee/tea, juices and milk. Breakfast starts at 6:30am, but if you go at about 8 or later, most of the items would have run out and you may need to ask the staff to replenish or cook you something. There are lots of cafes and bakeries in the vicinity if you want a change.

While in Vientiane, have a meal at Makphet, which is located on a perpendicular road to Chao Anou. If you want to try modern Lao food, this is the place. A main course is about 40,000 to 50,000 kip (US$4 - $6). A mango and mandarin orange smoothie costs US$3. Savor every single bite and sip. The dessert is just as incredible. I had dinner twice over the 2 weeks, and would have gone back a third time had it not been for other business engagements. When you eat at Makphet, it is also for a good cause as you will be helping the organization that trains homeless youths to cook and to run the restaurant.

Back to the hotel, the General Manager Mr Sompasong Darasack and all the support staff were always polite, friendly and helpful with directions and information. Some were not so conversant in English, but they still tried their best. It was very nice to be greeted by the warm smiles of the staff each time I stepped into the lobby. The hotel also helped to arrange for my daily transport. On 2 occasions when I called to cancel the transport, the hotel made sure that these were excluded from the charges.

I would definitely stay here on my next visit and I would also highly recommend the hotel for its convenient location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spitfireSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Inn Vientiane
City Inn Vientiane
#12 of 93 in Vientiane
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
420 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
Rashmi's Plaza Hotel
#29 of 93 in Vientiane
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabaidee@Lao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabaidee@Lao Hotel

Address: Pangham Rd, Sisaket Vil | Chanthabouly Dist, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $57 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabaidee@Lao Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sabaidee@Lao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing