We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern, clean and comfortable”
Review of Sabaidee@Lao Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sabaidee@Lao Hotel
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“modern, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you want a hotel with traditional features, dated furniture and traditional wooden floors where you are required to take your shoes off at the entrance, then this is certainly not your kind of place. But if you need a place that is central with clean well appointed rooms, modern, free and fast internet, quiet and efficient air conditioning, excellent service, good management and polite staff, then this is your kind of place. The bathroom is very clean but without a bath tub, hot water system uses solar energy, the towels are new and clean, most rooms have their own small balcony and there is free wireless with some desktops also placed in the reception area for the convenience of guests. Food in the hotel itself is good but there are loads of restaurants within a 5 minute walk including some of the best ones in Vientiane. For longer rides, metered taxis are available just outside the hotel.

Apart from the above, the hotel could do better with some entertainment and a fitness centre. The Niravana spa next door is not really cheap by Lao standards but offers good service.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block where the reception is located is ideal if you have heavy luggage as the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sahsameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    97
    51
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
50
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found it quite simple and comfortable. We've been hopping from one basic guesthouse to another and was glad to see that it was nicely appointed with new fixtures and beautiful rosewood/teak furniture. The location was very convenient and we were able to walk to a lot of the restaurants and spas. Vientiane is definitely the city for someone looking to lay low for awhile, seeing as theres not a whole lot in terms of shopping or sightseeing beyond the temples. I would definitely recommend this to younger 20-30 something travelers.

Room Tip: We went through a tour company, but dont forget to ask the reception for the free wifi password, oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have tried several middle class hotels in Vientiane. Location is excellent, breakfast reasonable good and rooms meet my expectations. Unfortunately it is quite often fully booked.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarangPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Arrived mid afternoon after flight from Luang Prabang and efficent check in and we made our made to our 5th floor room overlooking the courtyard.

Room was well appointed and extremely clean and a nice size. Twin beds, lovely balcony and bathroom that had great water pressure and hot water. No hairdryer but housekeeping brought one immediately when I called the front desk. Nice towels which are always appreciated.

Breakfast served on ground floor and courtyard, nice selection of food but coffee was horrible so I drank tea for three days. Good internet connection for our laptops but did try and use lobby computers one morning instead of heading back to room. Slow and kept dropping out.

In a good location about a five minute walk to the waterfront. If you need a good coffee head to Joma which is about a five minute walk. Dinner one night at The Spirit House which was nice and the following night at Aashifa which is an Indian Halal place right on the riverfront. Absolutely delicious. The third night we ate at the restaurant right next to Joma but can't remember the name. Also very good.

The only thing this place lacks is customer service, staff playing on mobiles, no smiles or welcoming messages and when you drop by reception and ask a question it is done very matter of fact. Shame as I think the hotel has some potential. However in saying that the housekeeper was exceptional and very friendly.

We felt like a swim one hot afternoon so we headed up the street to Setha Residences to use their pool.. On the pricey side but we stayed there for a few hours and the pool is really nice.

Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking into the courtyard, would imagine the rooms fronting the street might be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location and friendly staff... numerous computers were available for guest access in the hotel lobby. Breakfast was mediocre. Rooms were very comfortable

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
563 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Vientiane must be the smallest capital city in the world and to find a nice hotel like the Sabaidee@Lao Hotel seems rather incongruous! It is a great, clean and pleasant hotel just 5 minutes walk from the waterfront.
Everything worked in the rooms and this is a major achievement in one of the poorest countries in the world, Lao!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very clean and a good welcome. Staff made us a takeaway breakfast of noodles when we had to depart early.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
900 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Inn Vientiane
City Inn Vientiane
#14 of 93 in Vientiane
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabaidee@Lao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabaidee@Lao Hotel

Property: Sabaidee@Lao Hotel
Address: Pangham Rd, Sisaket Vil | Chanthabouly Dist, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabaidee@Lao Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sabaidee@Lao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing