We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I've ever stayed in...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Rose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The good news is that this hotel was relatively cheap, and the rooms were clean and spacious. The bad news was the construction noise both next to the hotel and in the hotel (they’re refurbishing one floor at a time) ran from 7:00am till 7:00pm daily. The shower was cold. The beds were the hardest I’ve ever felt (think cloth covered board). The walls were thin. The breakfast buffet food was stone cold and unappetizing (we dare not try other meal there). The only lift was filthy because the onsite workmen had to use it too. The maids ignore ‘do not disturb’ signs. To top it all off, the reception staff felt it necessary to inspect our room before they would let us check out (presumably they lose a lot of their thin towels).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 137 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

As this was my first visit to Laos I chose to make some basic bookings for accommodation on Agoda and for Vientiane I chose the Hotel D'Rose1. Overall this turned out to be a good decision so here are some of the issues that I met up with. Firstly not all the reviews for this hotel were positive but I did not have any issues that made me feel anti this hotel. One point that I believce trips a lot of visitors up is that there is a HotelD'rose and a Hotel D'rose1. They are ony 50 meteres apart and after the taxi delivered me to the wrong place a kindly porter picked up my bags and took me up the street. No issues with check in and I was advised that breakfast which was part of the deal would be served down the street. Again, not an issue.

The room was well enough lit and ventilated but had no window. It had neither safe or fridge but I believe this to be common in mid range hotels in Laos. I simply put my valuables in a small locked bag which was bagged at reception and locked in their safe.

The hotel is in a superb location as far as being central goes. It is eqi-distant from say the Morning Market, the Mekong side bars, the nightclubs and all the other attractions. If you feel like you have to have a swim you can do so at the flash Lao Plaza hotel 100 metres away.

There was one minor hiccup and that was breakfast. It was cold and inedible in my books but a simple request bought forth a fresh cooked pair of eggs and my day was off to a good start.

One joy of this place was the "Happy Hour" special. Just take a seat in their lounge, on goes the music and sit back with a large beer Lao, and then another, and so on. Four large beer Lao for 30,000 kip! its the bargain of a lifetime, US$3.20. Unbelievable.

Having said that the main reason that I will reccommend this place is because of the courtesy of the staff there. The reception, serving, room and management were all of the top order and made my visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teelack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is a lovely hotel. Brand new and still getting used to itself, the staff are friendly locals who do a fabulous job to keep you happy. Right in the centre of town with two beautiful pools in adjacent hotels, and surrounded by gorgeous restaurants. Very reasonable, but you may need to gently negotiate. I loved it so much I stayed for 3 months. Going back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewlaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank アッサラーム
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanchat P, General Manager at New Rose Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
Thank Bert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanchat P, General Manager at New Rose Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank natchatpongp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanchat P, General Manager at New Rose Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 同一の部屋に人数増えると部屋が広くなります。1部屋の料金はあまり変わらないので1名で利用でもextraベッド希望にすると部屋が広くなります。早めの予約で希望を多くするとよい部屋になるようです。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tadashi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanchat P, General Manager at New Rose Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.6 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#3 of 93 in Vientiane
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabaidee@Lao Hotel
Sabaidee@Lao Hotel
#14 of 93 in Vientiane
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Family Boutique Hotel
Family Boutique Hotel
#26 of 93 in Vientiane
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Rose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Rose Boutique Hotel

Address: No. 339, Pangkham Road, Sisaket Village | Chantabuly District, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: $43 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Rose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vientiane and easy access to tourist destination and shopping center. We offer value for money accommodation and friendly customer service throughout. All of our rooms are of suite size and tastefully decorated. Come enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your New Rose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing