We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly pleasant setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
Ranked #3 of 197 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly pleasant setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked the Sala Inpeng after reading tripadvisor reviews. The location and setting totally exceeded my expectations.... So close to the Mekong promenade and night market, and 5minutes from the restaurants, cafes and bars. The hotel setting itself also surprised me... In among the cityscape, it is itself a little green oasis that would be quite fitting in a countryside resort... Little traditional bungalows among a green and shaded garden.

Each bungalow has a little balcony area to sit, the room was spotless and was the first guesthouse I've been to in SE Asia that actually smelt clean and fresh. Aircon worked fine, wifi signal was good, bed was comfy, nice to have a mosquito net, bathroom was clean and hot shower worked well.

We booked a tuk tuk transfer to the airport through the hotel for an early flight, and they even knocked on our door 15minutes before (without requesting a 5.30am wake up), which I thought was thoughtful and good service.

A nice place to stay in Vientiane

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyPorkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    90
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
116
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
219 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for a total of 4 nights and I must say I was very satisfied. First, the bookings made received prompt replies. Second, the rooms were clean though thy are a bit tiny (I stayed in the economy and standard ones). Location was good as it was by the riverside and was in the heart of the tourism scene. It was also a stone's throw from the Wats. Service from the staff was excellent. The only bad things were the rooms being a bit small and the breakfast menu being the same for all the 4 days I was there. Would be great if there had been more variety in the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

In the middle of a Vientiane rapidly morphing into China, here is the old Laos we knew and loved. A cool, shady garden shelters a collection of wooden houses, each with a balcony where your breakfast croissant and cafe are served. The rooms are simple, nicely appointed, with big clean white beds, mozzie nets, TV, AC, and showers that mostly work (not always hot water, but it's OK, it's hot enough there already). No phone, so when you're ready for your breakfast, you just walk through the garden in your jammies and tell them! Not for the poverty-stricken, not for lovers of 5 star hotels, but just right for the rest of us. And the best news is that it is only a few years old, so SOMEBODY out there gets it that we want our Laos to be Lao, rather than Chinese. Maybe there will be more little hotels like this in the future. Book early; they fill up. Run by nice people, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Definitely recommend this place - very helpful staff with a good location, great rooms with balcony and green areas. Right by the river.

Can't accept cards as payment so need US dollars or kip.

Air con, fan and mosqito nets in our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trelleborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had seen this place on several visits to Vientiane and decided last time to go for it. The set up is very attractive with 9 or so individual wooden bungalows. The ones I stayed in were clean and comfortable, with a ceiling fan, (rather noisy) air-con and mosquito net (not needed for me), and it is very pleasant to be served breakfast on your own balcony. BUT, as others have mentioned, their room management is poor, requiring me to change rooms a couple of times despite my pre-booking of 2 fifteen day periods. The staff are probably best described as 'low-energy', requiring reminders to serve breakfast, for example, and smilingly doing only just what is necessary. The area looks calm and relaxing but there is often disturbing noise from the chatter and activities of staff in restaurants, etc. in the street to the rear of the property. The breakfast is monotonous, basically 2 eggs, not-too-fresh bread, a croissant, and fresh mango. Although, why would you want breakfast there when you can get a nice noodle soup, or omelet with stir-fried vegetables, or Chinese dumpling with iced coffee for a couple of dollars in the surrounding streets? I won't be going back - I prefer Khamvongsa for a few dollars more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The bungalows are beautifully constructed in a quiet, pretty garden in a sidestreet just a few metres from the road which runs along the Mekong river. Also not far are the sights, the main market, the buddhist tempels and a couple of pretty good restaurants.
The hotel is very clean, well maintained & well-run, and my room was comfortable & everything I could have wanted. The manager and the staff are charming, always helpful and very friendly.
This is a special little hotel with lots of character in the best possible way and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haderer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The nine rooms at Sala Inpeng are built to resemble traditional wooden platform homes common along the river. Its a great concept in an area that is littered with boutique hotels and guest houses.. but nothing quite like this. The rooms are clean, homely and comfy, although the TV did not work very well. Who needs television when the mighty Mekong is just a stones throw away. Great location too.. plenty of food options and a daily night market right outside the hotel. . Could improve on the breakfast served and the staff's ability to converse in English. But overall fantastic value for money

Room Tip: If you are a family, recommend the two bedroom big bungalow. It looked much more spacious and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tharuka d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#10 of 94 in Vientiane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dhavara Hotel
Dhavara Hotel
#4 of 94 in Vientiane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)

Property: Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn)
Address: 063 Unit 06, Inpeng Street (Mekong Riverside Road) | Ban Wat Chanh, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Sala Inpeng (Mekong Riverside Inn) Hotel Vientiane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing