We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest motel room in loas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aroon Residence Vientiane
Ranked #27 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The room was huge, equivalent to at least three average rooms that we encountered in Lao. Very clean with a large bathroom. Easy 10 to 15 minute walk into the city centre. Very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet location. The only downside was the breakfast which was one of worst we struck in Lao. That said a short 10 minute walk will have you at la bannaton or something similar.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Estaban57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 125 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

I loved it here and stayed three nights. I don't know why it is classed as a B&B on TripAdvisor, as it definitely has the feel and style of a hotel.

I booked a superior double room - the room was huge (actually 2 rooms with an archway connecting - with an aircon unit and fan in each room). The bathroom was large too. The rooms had external windows so natural light, but without balcony. The bed was very comfortable; the chairs a little less so. Wifi didn't work very well from the room (good in the reception/dining area), but cable access was available in the room & that worked fine.

The whole hotel was exceptionally clean and cared for, the staff were friendly and helpful, and most spoke reasonably good English.

Breakfast is from a menu, which includes 'American breakfast' of egg, bacon, sausage, ham, baguette, butter, jam, some fruit, fruit juice, coffee or tea. Alternatively, there's a rice or noodle option - these differ depending on the day of the week. The 'American breakfast' was freshly prepared (I can't say for the other options) and served at the table. It isn't a
huge breakfast but I thought it was nicely prepared and sufficient.

I liked the location - set back a good way back from the main road (Saylom Road) so it was quiet, but fairly well located for getting to the most appealing parts of the city. Turn right out of the hotel, walk along Saylom Road to the junction with Lane Xang Avenue - turn left and you get to Patuxai (the Victory Gate, a good viewpoint of the city if you climb to the top); turn right and it leads you past the Morning Market (Talaat Sao) & Wat Si Saket to the Presidential Palace (Haw Kham).

It doesn't serve lunch or evening meals, but there is a good Chinese restaurant next door on Saylom Road. The hotel has a laundry service payable by item, but a little way along the road there is a place that does laundry by weight.

The free minivan service to & from the airport/bus station/etc is very welcome & reliable.

I can think of two things which would be small improvements. A hairdrier in my room and bicycles for guest's use (I hired a bicycle from a bike shop on Lane Xang Avenue, for 15,000 kip per day, so very inexpensive, but it would have been more convenient from the hotel).

Room Tip: My room was 209 - 'Executive B' - recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NotLostUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed two nights and our room was clean (though strangely organized - not much room for our stuff). It had good AC and hot water, and a good breakfast. The staff helped us book our bus to Vang Vieng. We were within walking distance of most of the sights we wanted to see in Vientiane.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecentrecannothold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Guest house is located in town near the Morning Market, but is still calm & quiet because slightly away from the main street.

Size of rooms is acceptable and hotel is very clean. Staff was courteous, polite and nice as most places in Laos (at least compared to other countries in Asia). Free shuttle bus can reliably pick you up at Vientiane airport.

I have no problem to recommend this family-size guest house. For sure, you will not meet any massive groups of Chinese tourists here. For that alone, it is heaven !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This has got to be the cleanest hotel i've ever stayed in, the roomladies were constantly mopping and dusting. We stayed in an executive room on the second floor. The room was huge yet not very comfortable. Furniture was for appearance rather than use. Nobody seems to have thought about the needs of a hotel guest; where to put the luggage, where to sit to watch TV, how to have a shower in a slippy bath with no handrails.

The staff were pleasant and the breakfast adequate. This hotel is only worthwhile if cleanliness is your priority.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here after the bumpy ride down from Luang Phrabang and found it a clean and quiet hotel just off a major street a short walk from the downtown tourist area. Nice bathrooms and beds - clean and comfortable - felt like a business hotel - good breakfast and service - great value - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Aroon Residence is one of the most clean hotels we have ever stayed in. Actually, to say this hotel is clean is an understatement. Besides being clean, this hotel provides one of the best values for your money that you will find while traveling. The rooms are very efficient, attractive and comfortable. The bathroom was roomy and the water pressure and perfect mix of hot and cold water made taking a shower a treat. Amenities include drinking water, slippers, robes, toothbrushes, etc. The hotel serves a lovely breakfast with a menu that changes daily and provides you with a choice of three different types of breakfast. The staff is very polite, friendly and helpful. While we waited for our arranged transport to take us to the train station, the staff was very attentive. They served us juice and water, and asked about our comfort. When the pick-up we had arranged had not arrived on time, they were kind enough to make several calls for us to inquire as to what the problem was. The hotel is tucked away off a major street which makes the location very quiet. It is easy to navigate the city center from the hotel on foot or by tuk-tuk. We enjoyed our stay at the Aroon Residence, and highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Vientiane, Laos.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cadeauxetonnants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.8 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaleunehoung Hotel
Chaleunehoung Hotel
#104 of 202 in Vientiane
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
0.9 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 93 in Vientiane
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aroon Residence Vientiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroon Residence Vientiane

Address: Ban Hatsady Neua Chanthabouly Saylom Road, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: $24 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aroon Residence Vientiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing