We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of Lao Heritage Hotel

Lao Heritage Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lao Heritage Hotel
Ranked #102 of 201 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 29, 2014

If all you need is a great smile at the reception Lao Heritage Hotel might be your first choice. But the place does not deserve any recommondation at all. I write this review mainly because I picked it from a Lonely Planet recommondation,but found myself very dissatisfied. The bed was extremely squeaky, walls to the adjacent rooms paper thin leaving no cough unheard of, the general feel of the place not inviting in any way. Choose only if money is an issue and your personal comfort is not. Whatever made Lonely Planet put this place in their guide stays a mystery.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

That was lonely planets top choice in Vientiane, top choice??? Its not worth to try this hotel. Its over priced, no safety box ina room or in a reception. Cleaner are very lazy, bathroom was the worst i have ever seen and it was dirty. At least staff were kind and nice. We are are travelin couple, so we are seen lots of hotels, this is the worst one, no value for the money. We spend four nights in Vientiane wich is very nice small town. First two nights we were in another hotel, in a same street, i can tell that was a great value for money. We decide to move to Lao Heritage just to try it, because it was so near already and ofcourse what lonely planet were sayong about this place. One thing was good and its location, it was in a quiet nice street, but not too far from the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a three night stay at this hotel. The hotel is clean and spacious. However the furniture and condition of the room was aged. The walls had chip marks and needed a paint job. The toilet\ bathroom is comparatively small; the shower cubicle, sink and toilet are all with in an arms length from each other. I never had any problems with hot water.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. We were told places to visit, eat and drink.

The location is central but away from the busy streets. You can walk to the main restaurants/ nightlife in town.

Overall, this is a reasonably priced hotel and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller01627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just left the hotel yesterday, it was clean but very tired looking and basic. Excellent location. The staff are very helpful and the laundry is only 8000 kip per kg which is really good and we got it back the next day. They organised are cheap taxi to the airport (60,000 kip).

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andyrovers351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

After staying here one night, I am shocked lonely planet chose this spot for their top choice in Vientiane. Extremely overpriced (most spots for equal or better value go for $10-20 a night), dingy and dirty (one room had mold and all of the rooms were dark and dank), and customer service was lacking in every way imaginable.
... And there were ants, and Mosquitos on top of all the other issues this place needs to deal with.

Location was fine, but not great. Breakfast was weak in comparison to others I enjoyed in Laos.

Overall it seems this place is resting on the one accolade it received and overcharging guests who think they have gotten a deal because coming from the western world, $25 a night seems like a bargain. After 10 days in Laos, I can confirm that travel in this country is a bargain at the moment, but not at the Laos heritage hotel. Do yourself a favor and plan to stay elsewhere. You will be glad you did!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank TravelBug8277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The rooms are not very clean and we could not receive wifi in our room. We picked this hotel because it was Lonely Planet's Top Choice. It was not worth the $23 a night and construction was happening throughout the day and early in the morning. The staff was very helpful and they are the only reason I say this hotel was average, instead of poor. Choose elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here based on lonely Planet book and found it to be great budget accommodation, wifi , good ac , big bed , fridge and TV with a few English channels. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Booked forward transport through the hotel for a good price. Location is great, walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreyDuece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
583 reviews
0 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
975 reviews
0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#21 of 97 in Vientiane
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#14 of 97 in Vientiane
73 reviews
0 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vientiane
499 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Heritage Hotel

Address: No 123 Phnompenh Road | Anou Village, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Située, dans une ruelle calme du centre de Vientiane, la Guesthouse est une ancienne maison en Teck avec un petit jardin agréable . ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing