We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work”
Review of Lao Heritage Hotel

Lao Heritage Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lao Heritage Hotel
Ranked #97 of 198 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This hotel had a lot of good things going for it (great location, nice manager, comfy bed, very quiet), but it was ovewhelmed by some serious issues:

- Mosquitos. Our room had huge gaps leading directly outside as well as some holes in the screens. The bathroom also had a population of small flies.
- Dirt. The ceiling would sprinkle dirt and plaster onto the bed (more when it rained). There were cobwebs and a ton of mildew in the bathroom.


I've seen all these problems at different hotels in SEA, but when I am paying 25$, they bother me.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
24
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Limoux, France
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The location is very convenient, just 5 mn walk from the "main center" (which is anyway very relative when talking about such a quiet city as Vientiane) and the house itself is a delight, very charming with a nice outdoor terrace.
There's a karaoke next door at night but luckily they stop early.
The breakfast is included but a bit plain and disappointing, bottled juice instead of fresh juice, and a small awful pastry that I would never call a "croissant" - quite surprising for a French management, and knowing that there some excellent bakeries around town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocovlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This small hotel was a real pleasure too stay in. The court yard is ideal for having a quiet beer and is run by a friendly French lady who made us all welcome even if we were a bit roudy. nothing fazed her and it was like staying at a friends home. It has a small bar which we enjoyed very much. Around the corner about 50 metres away is the junction bar. The hotel is also only 60 metres away from the cultural hall and many restaurants.Could recommend it to anyone that wants a nice clean and in my book cheap hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Denis Melbourne
I have just returned to Australia after a trip to Laos. I was fortunate to stumble across the Laos Heritage Hotel in Vientiane which is away from the normal backpacker area but still close to everything. It is located round the corner from the cultural centre in a quiet location. The ambiance is more like a guest house than a hotel it is set in garden surrounds. For $15 for a single room it is the best value I have experienced in a long time. Cecile a French expat could not have been more helpful. Her Laos staff were very courteous and efficient in organising hire cars and out of town excursions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed in a number of similar hotels whilst travelling but this was probably the worst, simply because of the smell coming from the bathroom. The bathroom bin had also not been emptied from the previous guest. Saying that the room was of a decent size, aircon, good tv and the staff member was helpful in booking us a taxi to the airport at 6am (although we were fairly sure it was just one of his mates that took us!). Located just off the main road so pretty convenient. Overall not bad value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

My first stay at the Lao Heritage Hotel turned out to be a pleasant surprise.

Located just 15 minutes away from Vientiane International Airport, the Lao Heritage Hotel is slightly off the beaten path, but still within walking distance to hundreds of restaurants, pubs, shops and the Mekong riverfront. Rent a bicycle and you can get from the guest house to anywhere in Vientiane without too much effort as the city is almost flat.

This aging French villa turned small guest house presently has 8 rooms, and is in some need of renovation to restore its lost grandeur. The good news is that the manager, Cecile appears to be intent on adding the special touches needed to make the place unique and memorable. Amenities include a good WiFi connection, cable TV, hot shower, fan and AC. The garden patio is a pleasant place to spend leisure time.

Vientiane City is a good jumping off spot to see the rest of what Lao has to offer. It is a short 30 minute flight, or a 9-hour bus ride to the verdant mountains of the north and the World Heritage site of Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a street view for more windows and a brighter room. Ask to see all available rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimedens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This Guesthouse is now under new management. The previous owners had allowed this quaint Lao/French villa to run down. The new manager (Cecile) has worked hard to make this a tidy n relaxing place to stay. More work is planned, to renovate rooms and bathrooms. At the moment it represents great value for a central Vientiane Guesthouse. The villa has pleasant leafy verandas and is located in a quiet back street one block from one of the major roads through Vientiane within easy walking distance to central attractions.
The rooms need some work but they are kept very clean, the linen and beds are in good condition and the showers provide strong hot water.

Room Tip: For solo travellers some ot the single rooms are quite small. It is well worth the extra US$2 to upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulG_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
1.2 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#7 of 93 in Vientiane
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vayakorn Inn
Vayakorn Inn
#27 of 93 in Vientiane
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Rose Boutique Hotel
New Rose Boutique Hotel
#12 of 93 in Vientiane
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Settha Palace Hotel
Settha Palace Hotel
#10 of 93 in Vientiane
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moonlight Champa
Moonlight Champa
#2 of 198 in Vientiane
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Heritage Hotel

Property: Lao Heritage Hotel
Address: No 123 Phnompenh Road | Anou Village, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Située, dans une ruelle calme du centre de Vientiane, la Guesthouse est une ancienne maison en Teck avec un petit jardin agréable . ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing