We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Lao Heritage Hotel

Lao Heritage Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lao Heritage Hotel
Ranked #102 of 202 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2011

After staying in a couple of other guesthouses in Vientiane, I can definitely say that this is a small gem to be recommended. The new French owner makes all her guests feel most welcome. This traditional Lao wooden house is situated on a quiet street, yet is near to all the restaurants and sights. Would definitely return whenever I'm in Laos.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

The Lao Heritage Hotel is back on track. Featuring a top location right in the center of Vientiane it has recently changed hands to a new expat manager who is turning it once again into a memorable place. Come back and be impressed.

Room Tip: Room 12 and 13 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I'm surprised from the older previews, I guess the lovely atmosphere of this small hotel is justified cause of the new ownership by Cecile, the French woman that took over recently.
Never stayed here before but right now I can say it is excellent value for money, especially compared to other same priced hotels and guesthouses around the area.
You will not find here, a sanitized hilton like environment since this building is an old traditional vientiane house made of wood.The location is very good for me, its not on the main busy and noisy area but its still 3' to 5' walk from everything. There are no bugs, personell is friendly and helpful and the FEELING OF OLD WOODEN HOUSE beats anything for me.
The garden is great and food and beer Lao and wine is being served as well.

Room Tip: I choose a left side room so to have a view to the street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Arriving in Viantiane I found a recommended Guest House in the main Street which was adequate but noisy; I had a search around the side streets the following day and found a gem 'The Lao Heritage Hotel' Loads of charracter in a quiet street, run by a charming French woman. One of the best places I have stayed in, a delight. Highly recommended;

Room Tip: I would recommand room 19 because large solo bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I should have checked the reviews on trip advsor but instead I let myself lure into this hotel by the beautiful pictures on their website. The hotel is dilapidated and not clean. I had to persist to change rooms after I had maggets in my room.
The staff is friendley but they can only do so much. The owner should undertake some maintenance works.
Find another place to stay, i am sure you will find a better place for the same price, 25 dollars a night!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movanpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecile D, Gérant at Lao Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

New Management
We apoligize for your deception and inform you that all comments raised have been addressed.
Since early October, a new team is in charge of the hotel and we will do everything possible to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you for your feedback
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

i had horrible experience with lao heritage. sure i was attrackted by the nice pictures and when i came i was just so pissed of... at first it seemed that the room was dark and small, but that's it...but then i've mentioned that every single corner of the room was terribly dirty. (there were even somebody's clothes left) the bathroom, the toilet, that stains on the walls, just every things thing in my tiny room was really dirty. and airconditioner in fact didn't work properly. also the chairs and table in the corridor were dirty. wife - i had to pay for it! and breakfast really basic - a toast and a coffee. for that price you can find a better place to stay, or pay twice or three times less and stay in the cheapest place in vientiane.
did i forget to tell that the toilet was broken? afterall i felt well that it was so dark so i could no see if the towels were clean enough
sure there was no other way to stay there, but since i was staying just one night i didn't really complain.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ng21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

This place is average. Mostly, we were disappointed after being tempted by the beautiful pictures on their website. It did not live up to these photos. Its not a bad place to stay, but if your are looking to splurge, it is not the place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Form_MTL_with_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 97 in Vientiane
600 reviews
0 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#23 of 97 in Vientiane
529 reviews
0 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vientiane
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#15 of 97 in Vientiane
79 reviews
0 mi away
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
Vientiane Golden Sun Hotel
#7 of 97 in Vientiane
432 reviews
0 mi away
Green Park Boutique Hotel
Green Park Boutique Hotel
#8 of 97 in Vientiane
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Heritage Hotel

Address: No 123 Phnompenh Road | Anou Village, Vientiane, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Située, dans une ruelle calme du centre de Vientiane, la Guesthouse est une ancienne maison en Teck avec un petit jardin agréable . ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing