We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
30
13
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
30
13
2
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our family have beautiful memories here in June. A nice place with fresh air and away from the noise of the city. Room is not large but clean and comfortable. I'm just not happy with bathroom. It was small and should be more moderned improvements. My kids liked it quiet and private pool. Fool was not much variety that is mainly French cuisine and some local. Feeling a bit of inadequacy when there is no internet and television. But the staff was helpful and fun. A place to come to forget tired of work... just for relaxing.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_Klose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We have stayed at Ban Su Fa for only one night, based on its many good reviews and the No.2 position in tripadvisor. We have found the place simple & magical. The lady owner is warm and friendly and so is Mr. Boontham, the only staff who seems to be doing anything, including waiting. He is more like your personal butler. The place has five chalet type of accommodations, with no TV, hair dryer, air condition, coffee making, or phone. There is also no internet available and you best come with your mobile switched off and relax in the tranquil surroundings. The chalets are nice and clean. The concept is semi open with mosquito netting, allowing for natural air circulation. In addition, there are ceiling fans, should it get too hot in summer. This place has a nice over grown garden, but forget about your Shangri-La's, we are talking simple and nice. The location is remote and there is a farm nearby as well as a temple, which at times can be disturbing, due to the noise coming from either side. Drums wake at 3am - more for the monks and the rooster goes on all night. But if you like this type of back to basics, which by the way is a global trend, than this is your place. The husband cooks nice food and we did enjoy the great banquette and croissants. However the coffee was poor, simple Nescafe and nothing to do with the good coffee you expect in Laos (Sinouk).

Room tip: We love the restaurant concept, simple pergolas with your private table.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auyongchooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed only one night at Ban Sufa -- we should have stayed longer in retrospect, didn't even get a chance to take a dip in one of the the pools! Great ambiance, quiet, uncomplicated and terrific welcome from the owners (it helps if you speak French). Ms Fafa arranged everything for us, including a taxi pick-up from Vientiane and an early breakfast + tuk-tuk to the bus station the next day (thank you again Fafa for the homemade banana cake, which we enjoyed on our 12-hr ride to LuangPrabang!) The dinner was oustanding -- foie gras, sea bass, etc., all perfectly executed - best we had in Vientiane. Not cheap in total, but well worth it. Basically 5-star quality for the price of a 3-star room & board in central Paris. No TV, no internet -- but then, that's why you come here, to escape! Will come back (for longer) if I get the chance.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fafasuzan, Propriétaire at Ban Sufa Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Dear Guest
thank you very much for your nice appreciation. we hope to see you next time for longer.
it's a great pity if you don't joint us for Christmas Eve or New Year's Eve because my husband, the Chef prepare many specials meals for to delight our guest.
and so sorry, if i thing your trip to Long Prabang is so long ,i offer to you a fool banana cake ...
you are welcome as soon as possible, best regards, Fafa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

A great place to get away from it all - situated outside the city, in the countryside. When we were shown to our villa I thought it housed two rooms. Pleasantly surprised to find it was one big room with the porch all to ourselves. Meals are served outside. Lovely grounds and excellent food. Delightful owners. Helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is nature, close up. We had a bungalow backing onto paddy fields and were serenaded by a mass voiced choir of crickets and toads. Unfortunately they also bring along their friends, the mosquitos, ants and spiders who moved into our room with us. Just like camping, its the price .you pay for such a stunning rural location and you need to decide if thats for you. It would help if there were mosquito nets (there are screens everywhere but when you open the doors to get in, there are always invaders - it would add to the romance of the rooms too!).
The grounds are lovely and the pools great fun for kids. Lilly the huge dog looks scary but is adorable and great with children. The outdoor dining was charming, and the food very good - we had chicken pate, steak and lamp chops that were worthy of any good Parisian restaurant, but there is no possibility of Laos food ( a big diappointment on our last night) - in Paris, it would be a bargain, but in Laos, the cost of our dinner doubled our stay cost and we were not told how much it was until after we ate - the menu was handwritten on paper with no prices. Hate to sound like a whiner, but Laos has many great, budget places with amazing Laos food and upmarket luxury places which are sumptious while retaining character. Ban Sufa for us fell between those 2 stools.
We didnt get to meet the owners that everyone seems to love as they were away, but the team holding the fort were great.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theritsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews