We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel close to the Mekong river”
Review of Hotel Khamvongsa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vientiane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Khamvongsa
Ranked #3 of 198 Vientiane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy hotel close to the Mekong river”
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I stayed at Khamvongsa hotel almost 2 months (!) and loved it. I recommend it to anyone who goes to Vientiane. The staff are very friendly and attentive, the rooms and bathrooms are clean and I really liked the breakfast.
Probably my only complaint would be to the owner of the bar next door, who apparently has the license to stay open later than allowed in Vientiane. If you go for a couple of days is OK, but after the second week the noise from the bar starts to annoy you. Aside from that, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soylali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    208
    41
    10
    10
See reviews for
51
249
101
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I tried to book here early, but since only two days were available and I'd been planning on a week I went looking at some other spots. That didn't end well – it was such a relief to arrive here, and I figured I'd stay for a couple of nights. Although they were almost fully booked, the owner made sure that I was able to continue my stay and sample a few different rooms for over the course of a week, and I can tell you that they were all fantastic. I preferred the higher up ones in the back with a bit less street noise, but it wasn't bad in the front either. Wooden furnishings and a classy green and earth-toned interior highlighted with local textiles really make the rooms stand out among anything else in its price range in the city. Several English speakers on staff and overall very attentive. Whole-heartedly recommended, but book ahead if you want to count on getting a spot!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank routeMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed here for one night and paid $30 for a double (queen bed). The room was a good size, comfortably furnished and clean with good hot water and water pressure. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel accepts credit cards (with the customary 3% additional fee). The location is excellent - right on the edge of the downtown area, very close to restaurants, shops, the Mekong, etc. The only downside is that it does have a bit of a backpacker/hostel feel and you can easily hear noise from the hallways (not great if your neighbors are coming/going late at night). Even with that, this is an excelelnt value and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Very cosy and comfortable hotel to stay in. As it is right in the center of the city it makes all tourist attractions accessible on foot or by tuk tuk on affordable rates.

The room is very charming and nicely decorated with dark veneer furniture. The bathroom is very clean and well maintained.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Great value for money!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosewood, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Only stayed 2 nights but couldn't fault this hotel in any way, very comfortable, clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Having stayed at Beau Rivage a couple of time before, it was a nice change staying here. Definitely better value and location than Beau Rivage. Very impressive decor - a lot of attention to detail as seen in the individualized room furnishing. Rooms were large. Free wi-fi a big plus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2009

we just stayed one night in this hotel, but from the first sight, I know this is a good choice. This hotel is so family-styled that it makes you feel like at home, very comfortable and relaxed. Good location, near the mekong river and city centre, while away from the noise. I like the wooden floor and furnitures very much, all natural. nice staff, always smiling. The price is quite fair for the value in VT, we cannot find a better place in VT.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESeraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.1 mi away
Salana Boutique Hotel
Salana Boutique Hotel
#2 of 93 in Vientiane
910 reviews
1.1 mi away
S Park Design Hotel
S Park Design Hotel
#1 of 93 in Vientiane
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansara Hotel
Ansara Hotel
#5 of 93 in Vientiane
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lao Orchid Hotel
Lao Orchid Hotel
#11 of 93 in Vientiane
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vientiane Garden Hotel
Vientiane Garden Hotel
#19 of 93 in Vientiane
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Vientiane Nam Phu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Khamvongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Khamvongsa

Property: Hotel Khamvongsa
Address: Khun Bu Lum Road | Ban Vat Chan, Vientiane Box 2338, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vientiane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Vientiane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Khamvongsa is a cozy and elegant family run hotel in the old part of central Vientiane, with bright, spacious rooms, decorated in French colonial and Lao style. Our team of friendly, dedicated, English speaking staff takes pride in providing top quality service, caring for the different needs of our guests. Khamvongsa offers all you need and more at good value: stylish rooms with comfortable beds, free internet access, and a delicious and generous breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing